Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've made these a couple of times, and just noticed a photo of completed peanuts and a 'bag' of peanuts. I do hope folks know that 'green' peanuts are what you are suppose to use for this recipe. I'm cooking a batch now and can't wait for the outcome. Will update this review when they finish. Green peanuts are only available certain times of the year, so to get the reall effect you might want to make sure that is what you start with. I'd never eaten these till my Mississippi husband had to have some a few years ago. So I had to figure out how to prepare some for him. So far he loves this recipe every time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
yummo! great recipe...i didn't use the jalapeno peppers cause i didn't have any. They were still delicious though. The longer they sit the hotter they get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
The recipe is very good, but I don't understand how to eat them (probably because I'm a Yankee)! They're very slow to eat and messy. Is the idea to prepare them for a crawfish boil or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
DEEEEEELICIOUS!!!!!!! I am an Ohioan, currently living in Coastal Mississippi, and have become addicted to these things! I made these for the first time this past weekend when two girlfriends came down to visit me, and they had never had them before. They were hooked after one bite! I like that I 'KNOW' how long they've been cooking, whereas the ones you can buy in those kettle cooker things in some stores down here, there's no way of telling how long those have been stewing, which perhaps is why sometimes they can be a bit too mushy. These have just the right amount of give, and I cooked them on low for at least 24-30 hours, then turned the crockpot to 'warm' for the next 24 hours (just because I forgot to put them away), and the next day, I scooped them out and put them into a gallon-sized ziploc bag and stored them in the fridge. That was 3 days ago, and I'm eating the last few today, with a little help from some co-workers. wouldn't change a thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Hi, this is Rachael. I read some of the recent reviews and I feel that's it's unfair to poorly rate this recipe if you don't like the consistentcy of boiled peanuts! This isn't to make crunchy, roasted peanuts, its for soft, boiled peanuts! For the rest of you, I am so THRILLED that ya'll have enjoyed this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I had never eaten boiled peanuts before fixing these. After 36 hours in the slow cooker I couldn’t wait to try them! The only way I could describe them was like eating lima beans. Maybe with spices! I thought I have screwed the recipe up but after taking them to work and consulting with a guy from Florida he said, “Yelp, they are like that.” Recipe may on the money but I’ll not revisit this experience at home or on the roadside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BootzCrawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Absolutely Superb! I cooked in pressure cooker for 2 hours and slow cooker for additional 2 hrs. Very good peanuts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I don't know how to rate these ... the flavour was great but soft peanuts? From what I've read, Southerners, who are raised with these, will like this recipe, but Northerners (like myself) who are used to crunchy peanuts likely will not. Sorry I can't rate this higher ... just personal preference I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoolieOfAllTrades

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Brooke129
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I LOVE boiled peanuts, but have never tried making them myself! These were so easy and wonderful! The package of peanuts I bought were 1.5 lbs, but I kept the measurements the same as the recipe called for since I didn't know how spicy it would be and I knew my 6 yr old would want some too. They still came out amazing! Next time I will cut back a little on the salt, but other than that, I won't change a thing! I cooked them on low for 21 hrs, and then turned it up to high for 2 more hours, and they were good after a total of 23 hours. Some might have given it another hour, but I don't like them too soft. Perfect! Thanks for a great recipe! I will be making these often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
my peanuts turned out soggy and drippy. flavor? more suited to shrimp. guess I'm used to salty and crunchy peanuts. won't be saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States