Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I'm a Florida girl and I grew up eating boiled peanuts. I love them and they're great with any seasoning you like, just go for it and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These were very good. My boyfriend is crazy about them. My one regret is that I did not add all the jalapenos that the recipe called for. It actually could have been a little spicier. Next time I make these I will trust the recipie and put them all in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Cisowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These bad boys are ridiculously good and very spicy. I boil them in 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth for a little added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My husband and I both give these 5 stars! So good! Thanks for sharing Rachael! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USNchic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Hey Racheal' been a big fan of the boiled peanuts forever, and being a native northern boy whom had family in Fla the wife and I always had to stop at the stands on the way down,(what a mess in the car) when we visited the family. Came across your recipie and loved it, whith a few of my own variations, kinda like chili. really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is the BEST recipe I have found! I make these all the time for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
my peanutes were soggy and mushy. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Have made twice! Very good and very easy. I cooked for a full 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I'm on board with Rachael (submitter of recipe)...if you don't know what "boiled peanuts" are all about, then don't submit a bad rating due to texture issues! I'm a northerner but have lived in the south and got hooked on these. I like this flavor way better then just plain salted ones. I used organic dry raw peanuts (2lbs) cuz when I got my craving, green peanuts weren't in season. I soaked my peanuts overnight in cold water (weighed em down w/a plate) drained, then proceeded with the recipe. I didn't use 'crab boil' - added some Old Bay. I also added a bottle of Honey Brown Ale initially and cooked in a 8QT heavy stock pot on the stove. If you store the pot in the fridge overnight (after cooking for 12 hrs) the peanuts tend to suck up more liquid and will finally sink down; then continue cooking next day. You have to sample one here n there until you get the texture you prefer. If you don't use green peanuts you may have to cook longer. If I had a pressure cooker I would try method mentioned. All I can say is if you want crunchy peanuts, don't try these or rate poorly because these are meant to be softish (like canned kidney beans). I like mine soft, but that's a personal pref. In any case, love the additional spice profile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've made these a couple of times, and just noticed a photo of completed peanuts and a 'bag' of peanuts. I do hope folks know that 'green' peanuts are what you are suppose to use for this recipe. I'm cooking a batch now and can't wait for the outcome. Will update this review when they finish. Green peanuts are only available certain times of the year, so to get the reall effect you might want to make sure that is what you start with. I'd never eaten these till my Mississippi husband had to have some a few years ago. So I had to figure out how to prepare some for him. So far he loves this recipe every time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States