Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I'm making these as I write this review. Only gave it 3 stars cuz I'm a little confused!! First.....the recipe says to add water to KEEP PEANUTS COVERED.....the peanuts are floating!!!! How am I to keep them covered if they're floating? Maybe after it comes to a boil, they'll settle down!!??!! Second....recipe calls for Crab boil.....I bought Zantarain's.....It came in a porous (SP?) bag. Was'nt sure if I should have just thrown the bag and all in the pot or opened the bag and dumped the seasonings in......I opened the bag and dumped the seasoning in. I REALLY hope these come out the way I remember them from the roadside in Florida....LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!!!! P.S.....they really smell good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I am Sooooo impressed with this receipe!! No longer does this Jersey Girl have to wait to go down South for her favorite snack! The spice is just right, the saltiness is just right.... the only thing I might change is the cook time, as many of the previous reviewers have stated... I would keep in the slow cooker closer to 30 hours for for a softer bite, HOWEVER.... LOL, I couldn't help sneaking bowl after bowl after about 24 hrs of cooking... ALSO... no one talks about storage life... I've checked and these can stay in the fridge safely for alittle over a week,...although some sites say almost a month is fine, but to be on the safe side, I would stick with the former.... ENJOY!! FABULOUS receipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Monroeville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was my first attempt at making any recipe for boiled peanuts and these are divine! I used two 3 oz packs of Mt. Olive sliced jalapenos (with the juice!) because that's what I had on hand and followed a recipe on here for the cajun seasoning. I also used 3 tbspns of the cajun seasoning and cut the salt back to 1/4 cup to ensure more spice than saltiness and it was awesome. I had plenty to share and several have asked for this recipe - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I will try it soon! I am from GA, but live in CO. We can't get raw peanuts here. I usually have to have my relatives ship them to me....and people look at me crosseyed when I say "boiled peanuts". However, everyone who's tried them has LOVED them and found them quite addicting. I boil mine in a slowcooker too, but have to turn the heat up--the altitude here makes a huge difference. I am so glad to see something so loved in the heart of the south start rising to the surface!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Brilliant! From the west coast originally and lived in Florida for 7 years and I'm proud to say that these are just like the delicious goodness I got when I was there (only adding a full cup of serrano and jalapeños to change it because I like it stupid hot)... I'm happy to bring this to San Diego! Thank you! For those who dont like the texture and or saltiness... don't rate this poorly as you probably have no taste anyway :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First off I have to say I have NOT tried this recipe, but just wanted to say I have tried boiled peanut, and I do like them, but like other Northerns was unsure of how to eat them, didn't know if you eat the whole thing or just the peanut. Once I found out the correct way, just eat the peanut, I have had them many times over the years, they remind me of a little boiled potato...Just figured I let others know NOT to eat the shell, and yes they do get very soft, so if you are looking for a "Northern" type peanut, look elsewhere. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This was a good recipe but I must say, I would cut down on the spices next time. I like hot and spicy but the older I get, the less it likes me. ): I thought the amount of salt would be over the top but it was perfect. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Florida perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Cooked on low for 2 days.. Peanuts still not soft. Cooked on high for 24 hours, STILL not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Bunny

Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States