Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
While the flavor was good, I, and the friends I had try this, thought it was much too salty. I followed the recipe exactly. I've let it sit on warm in the crockpot after the 1 day of cooking on low and added more and more water to try to dilute it, it has made it a little better (i.e. less salty). Next batch, I'll cut the salt down by at least half. Don't think 1/2 cup salt is needed/should be used. Typo on the recipe or just large difference in saltiness preference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I sure have....and it is easy, the ingredients are handy & if you crock pot it, you have an easy snack that everyone loves! I followed the recipes from roadside vendors on my way to New Smyrna Beach, FL. They are spicy & salty good!! Don't pay for someone to make it. Do it yourself! My boiled peanuts are soooo good that I may try to sell them myself LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made these last night. I started them at 10pm and by 10am they were done. I used my 6 quart crock pot for a pound and a half of nuts and a gallon of water. I followed the directions and I added extra of the spices and jalapeno peppers for more heat. I checked the water after a 1/4 cup salt and it was salty enough for me, as I am watching my sodium intake and I love salt. The water was extra spicy and burned my mouth in a good way. The nuts have a nice flavor, but not hot and spicy at all. I also used GREEN PEANUTS. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
sounds great ! BUT do you let them dry or put in the oven to dry ? Are they soggy and soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
We absolutely LOVE this recipe! The only problem was that we didn't cook enough and are making another batch now. We made a few changes….we left out the jalapeños, added some cayenne pepper, used 1/4 cup regular salt and 1/4 cup sea salt, and instead of regular crab boil I used Old Bay Blackened seasoning and some regular Old Bay. I let them soak in the seasoned water for about 3 hours before I put them in the crock pot. Also, it took about 36 hours to cook in our crock pot, not 24. They turned out incredible! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fay
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipeA few things I do differently: 1. I cut back on the on the jalapenos and pepper flakes a bit just cause I'm a wimp. But the seasoning overall is PERFECT. BONA FIDE Cajun boiled peanut flavor from a roadside stand in the panhandle! 2. I boil on HIGH (not low) for 24 hours. Even then they aren't soft enough for me (even if I use "green" peanuts). I let them cool off and just sit in the crock pot for another 24 hours. Then they became supremely awesome. 3. After years of making these with regular raw peanuts, I finally got some green ones. They got soft faster, but you really can achieve the same taste with just a little longer in the pot if all you can get are raw. It wasn't worth how much trouble it is to procure green peanuts if you can't get them locally. Just FYI my picture is the close-up in a white cup. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Being from Cali, I had never heard of boiled peanuts until I moved to the South. After trying from various locations, I am addicted and knew I needed to try this myself! Unfortunately, they are extremely salty and I believe that the boil I used (Louisiana Crab and shrimp boil) has an underlying clove flavor which I dislike. Next time I'll try less salt and Zatarain's, or my own if I can't find a clove free variety. Good base recipe though, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendocino, California, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
AWESOME!!! Thanks SO much Rachael! I am a New Orleans girl relocated to Florida, I fell in love with boiled peanuts. This recipe is great! I did omit the salt because Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) has plenty. I also added a teaspoon of Cayenne pepper. After 12 hours I started checking for the peanuts for softness. I think everyone likes them differently. I like them soft but not too soft. Mine were done perfectly around 14 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachaels37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I accidentally bought roasted.....anyone else do this? I have them cooking now, hopefully they get soft... Smells delish and spicy so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
We made this recipe and it is amazing! My dad is from Alabama and that is where we would always enjoy our boiled peanuts... my fiance and I now live in Colorado and they do not have this tasty treat. We added cayenne to make it more spicy... and I think next time we will add fresh garlic instead of powder. Another user said they used beer and that may be a good idea too... and maybe throw in some sausage too. Trust us... you will want to make more than just 1lb... because right when you're finishing the first batch you will wish you had more... but will have to wait another 24 hours... haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlove3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States