Rabbit Stew with Coconut Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
My husband said this was the best rabbit that he has ever had. A family friend had no idea that it was rabbit when served. The chili pepper added just the right amount of spice. I did not know what a bird's eye chile was so I used a serrano. It turned out great!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
absolutely loved it! My dad is a gourmet cook and he said it the best rabbit he had! So defiantly will make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe!! Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dr. filomena
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I was a bit sceptical as I'd never made rabbit before, but having just eaten the meal, I had to run back to the computer and give it a full five-star rating here. THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dr. filomena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Fantastic! This was my first time cooking rabbit- I don't think I'll be trying any other recipes. This had a very sophisticated taste, but was so easy to cook! Just lots of simmering! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Rabbit was very tender, Cream of coconut was a very nice touch, well balanced sweetness, perfect with rice. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I love rabbit more than chicken, so I was excited to find a new and different recipe. My husband is a traditional rabbit cooker (you know, hunter style or cream style), which is fine, but I was ready to get out of the box. My kids and I loved this recipe! I did tone down the sweetness by correcting it with more chicken stock and boiling it back down (for my husband). I also cooked everything in a big dutch oven and just pulled out the rabbit to saute the veggies and drain the oil. I did remove the bones from the rabbit while the veggies cooked; that allowed me to eat my dinner rather than cut up my children's! AND no child felt badly about cutting up Bugs Bunny :). I think it helped! 5 stars from me and the kids and 4 from the traditional American hunter (whatever! I'll be making this again!) YUM! Oh...I couldn't help but add a touch of saffron. Just couldn't help myself! It was beautiful and delicious! I would have taken a picture, but I was too excited to eat! Even the next day, I had to say to a friend who was over, "Here, you have to try this!!" I know I'm blabbing, but it really rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
soooooo very good. the biggest hit of the wildgame potluck. this recipe made me a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixxxi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We're in love with this dish! Just made it tonight (we raise meat rabbits) and it was the best rabbit dish we've made so far. This recipe is a keeper. I added two serrano peppers and it really had a nice kick. The coconut milk made a delicious sauce that we ate over brown rice. I pressure cooked it for 30 minutes and the meat was falling-off-the bones tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSPHERBLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
The coconut cream gives this dish a Southeast Asian flair. I left out the chili so the kids could try it but sadly they didn´t care for it. I´ll keep this recipe around for when I have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Whipped Coconut Cream (Vegan Whipped Cream)

Dairy-free whipped cream made with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States