Rabbit Stew with Coconut Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
My husband LOVES this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I hate to spoil the perfect rating, but we just didn't like this. I don't know if it's the recipe itself or that some of my the ingredients weren't of the utmost quality. My cream of coconut had been sitting on the shelf for quite some time and had separated, although I'm told that is normal. Also, my hot chile pepper didn't seem very hot so there was nothing to offset the sweetness. I am going to give this one a try again in the future because I'm always looking for unique and intersting dishes to serve at wild game feasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This was great! My kids ate it up and asked for seconds. The meat was fall off the bone delicious, and all I left out was the chile (or kids would have run for the hills!). Can't wait to make this for guests!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
The coconut cream gives this dish a Southeast Asian flair. I left out the chili so the kids could try it but sadly they didn´t care for it. I´ll keep this recipe around for when I have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We're in love with this dish! Just made it tonight (we raise meat rabbits) and it was the best rabbit dish we've made so far. This recipe is a keeper. I added two serrano peppers and it really had a nice kick. The coconut milk made a delicious sauce that we ate over brown rice. I pressure cooked it for 30 minutes and the meat was falling-off-the bones tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSPHERBLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harborcreek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
soooooo very good. the biggest hit of the wildgame potluck. this recipe made me a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixxxi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I love rabbit more than chicken, so I was excited to find a new and different recipe. My husband is a traditional rabbit cooker (you know, hunter style or cream style), which is fine, but I was ready to get out of the box. My kids and I loved this recipe! I did tone down the sweetness by correcting it with more chicken stock and boiling it back down (for my husband). I also cooked everything in a big dutch oven and just pulled out the rabbit to saute the veggies and drain the oil. I did remove the bones from the rabbit while the veggies cooked; that allowed me to eat my dinner rather than cut up my children's! AND no child felt badly about cutting up Bugs Bunny :). I think it helped! 5 stars from me and the kids and 4 from the traditional American hunter (whatever! I'll be making this again!) YUM! Oh...I couldn't help but add a touch of saffron. Just couldn't help myself! It was beautiful and delicious! I would have taken a picture, but I was too excited to eat! Even the next day, I had to say to a friend who was over, "Here, you have to try this!!" I know I'm blabbing, but it really rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanneBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Rabbit was very tender, Cream of coconut was a very nice touch, well balanced sweetness, perfect with rice. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Fantastic! This was my first time cooking rabbit- I don't think I'll be trying any other recipes. This had a very sophisticated taste, but was so easy to cook! Just lots of simmering! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dr. filomena
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I was a bit sceptical as I'd never made rabbit before, but having just eaten the meal, I had to run back to the computer and give it a full five-star rating here. THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dr. filomena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States