R and R Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I make this recipe with brown rice already cooked and with 2% milk and it was so good that we ate the whold caserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Simply the best rutabaga recipe I've made yet. The trick to rutabagas is to cook them halfway, drain the water, then replace liquid with a broth, finish cooking. This removes the bitter flavor I find in rutabagas. In addition, I added half an onion I had left over to the second half of cooking. So with that method and substituting the dairy with coconut milk and dairy-free margarine, we have a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anhata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was remarkably good. I had some mashed rutabaga's I had tried to make like mashed potatoes. We did not like them at all--so I salvaged the mashed rutabagas with this recipe. It worked wonderfully! Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made this last night for dinner. It is a very tasty dish! My changes, I used fat free milk, instead of whole milk, and olive oil spread instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon_B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I enjoyed this dish, I too added some onion, and carrots. What a great change to the usual mashed rutabaga. Light and airy. Thanks for sharing this with us. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lou
Home Town: Pine Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
this recipe was so good! just a hint of sweetness, with a nice earthiness from the rutabagas. took it to a holiday potluck tonight and everyone raved about it. made it with 1% milk, brown sugar instead of white sugar and 1 cup of short grain white rice leftover from dinner last night. super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. I used brown sugar instead of white, and used a package of Trader Joe's Frozen Organic Brown Rice. Otherwise I actually followed the recipe! My kids ate it (I sprinkled a little cinnamon-sugar on theirs and told them it was dessert :D) and my husband had seconds. He ate his with Tabasco. Rutabaga will never be my favorite thing, I think, but at least we tried it and now the CSA rutabaga that's been in my fridge for a few weeks is gone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is certainly not a side dish for dinner!!! I was considering putting some raisins in it and having it for dessert. Its way to sweet. My kids woultn't eat it, and they're really not that fussy especially when it comes to rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made this for a potluck brunch at church. Everyone raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly except used brown sugar instead of white sugar. However, I have to add that, if you've never used a rutabaga, it isn't that easy. Best to microwave it for about 5 minutes on high to get it soft enough to cut into cubes, then you still have to boil it for about 20-30 minutes -- 10 minutes won't be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It was ok. Family thought is was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Savory Gorgonzola Bread Pudding

See how to make a savory bread pudding side dish for grilled steaks.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States