Quinoa with Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I've never had quinoa before but gave this a shot. I cooked it in 2 cups chicken broth, one cup water. I sauted the garlic, added tri colored peppers, a little green pepper, broccoli, frozen green peas, and frozen corn. I also added some butter to the olive oil for flavor, the cumin, and the oregano and a touch of crushed red pepper. I served it with chopped green onions. Both hubby and I thought it was too bland. I added walnuts and sunflower seeds to mine, he added raspberry walnut vinaigrette dressing to his. His was delicious, mine was OK. I gave it three stars cause of it being bland. I'll try it again, but adjust the seasoning. Maybe my spices are to old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Davison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used this as a base, but used chicken broth for part of the water and for veges I used carrots, zucchini, corn and some kale. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Delicious! I didn't change a thing, but I'm sure it would be good with other veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Edible, but not something I will make again. For my taste buds, there are better quinoa recipes on here. I cut the oil down to 2 tablespoons & think using the full amount would be really greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This dish was very tasty. I doubled it up for a group of 8 and added extra cumin and orgegano. I also added some frozen beans and added them at the same time as the frozen corn and red peppers. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This idea gets 5 stars from me. I used zucchini,red bell,and peas they were a perfect match. I also used Garam Masala spice instead of just Cumin.I was reaching for my Cumin when I saw the Masala it has Cumin in it and I thought what the hay. It was very very good. If I hadn't seen this recipe and the poster hadn't pointed out other vegetables that would work just as deliciously my Quinoa would still be sitting on my shelf unused and unappreciated. So for the inspiration this recipe gave me I give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by PrettyMama
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This recipe is good, but does end up pretty bland. I added a sprinkling of freshly grated Parmesan and it gave it that edge of flavour that it needed to really be a satisfying meal. Also added some leftover mixed frozen veggies (carrot/lima bean/peas/green beans)cherry tomatoes and substituted coriander for the cumin. Also finely chopped a little bit of onion and added with the other veggies, as I didn't have any green onions. Didn't take too much prep and was ready in just over 30 minutes (I had an issue with my bell pepper, so was a bit delayed) which is a huge pro for a mom of 2 who doesn't have a lot of cooking experience! My 2 year old loves it and my picky husband is eating it! Very pleased and will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Vey tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Added zuchinni, carrots, black beans and cooked with regular onions instead of using green onions. Turned out great! Even my veggie hating, quinoa resistant husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I made this for a quick lunch for my mother-in-law Everyone loved it, even my mother-in-law who is not an adventurous eater. I did make some changes though. I used up some homemade chicken broth instead of straight water, sauteed onion and garlic before adding the corn which was leftover from the farmer's market. I forgot to add the cumin but it was good without it. I did squeeze a little bit of lemon over it all at the end with a final drizzle of olive oil. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States