Quinoa with Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I liked this recipe but I did make a couple changes. First of all, rinse the quinoa well with cold water before cooking. I cooked the quinoa as directed on the package (2c liquid per 1c quinoa) which is a cup less than the recipe states. I used beef broth instead of water. I will be trying vegetable broth and chicken broth in the future as well. By using less liquid there is no need to drain it after cooking. I used a can of garden vegetable medley (corn, green beans, carrots) instead of half a cup of corn. I didn't have garlic so I used two green onions (green part included) instead. I put them in with the peppers after they had softened up some. I didn't put salt or pepper in it because the broth is salty enough and pepper can be put on according to each persons own taste preference. I'll make it again using different liquids and veggies. It's quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Nice but you couldn't taste the herbs and spices :( so was a bit bland i added lemon juice yum! but this recipe made TOO MUCH QUINOA and not enough vegies! still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a fine side dish. My 1 year old loved it which makes me a happy mama. The cumin gave the quinoa a wonderful aroma, but the taste was lacking a bit so I'll pump it up with some spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I'm not crazy about quinoa. I was looking for a little more flavor than I had found in other recipes. This was amazing! Didn't have red peppers so I subbed green ones. Didn't have green onions so I added about a Tbs of yellow onion. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Made exactly as recipe, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
needs a sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was my first run at quinoa. I discovered that quinoa takes on the flavour around it, on it's own it tastes like socks. I followed the recipe but did add to it, couple pinches of dried onion powder, half tsp or more dried garlic powder, bit of extra salt...and you know what? It's rather nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Photo by lauraperkins
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved it! I made this recipe with 2 cups of vegetable broth as many commented 3 cups of water was too much. It also matched the package directions. I used red quinoa. It tasted great hot. I cooled it overnight and added crumbled feta cheese and grape tomatoes to make a cold side dish for a party. It was very tasty and everyone seemed to like it. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States