Quinoa with Veggies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I am trying to learn to like quinoa, and this dish definitely brought me a littler closer! I used frozen peas & carrots in place of the corn (personal preference) and added a can of black beans as recommended by previous reviews. Very important to note that the flavor was much better after a couple of days of the flavors melding in the frig. When I reheated it I melted some shredded sharp cheddar cheese on top and it was downright yummy! Kids still aren't crazy about it, they think it might be better with some meat added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Yum! First Quinoa recipe I've tried that had enough flavor for the whole family. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Tasted great with the cumin - I also added carrots and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good, basic quinoa recipe. I used 2 1/4 cups water (one of those I used veg. broth) as the package recommends. Simmering for 20 minutes was perfect. I loved the idea of cooking the carrot in the water. It was soft after 10 minutes. I find stir frying the carrots they never get soft. I added chopped sugar snap peas, chopped red onion and everything else as the recipe called for. Very colorful, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was my first time eating or making Quinoa. I thought it was okay. It could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I liked this recipe but I did make a couple changes. First of all, rinse the quinoa well with cold water before cooking. I cooked the quinoa as directed on the package (2c liquid per 1c quinoa) which is a cup less than the recipe states. I used beef broth instead of water. I will be trying vegetable broth and chicken broth in the future as well. By using less liquid there is no need to drain it after cooking. I used a can of garden vegetable medley (corn, green beans, carrots) instead of half a cup of corn. I didn't have garlic so I used two green onions (green part included) instead. I put them in with the peppers after they had softened up some. I didn't put salt or pepper in it because the broth is salty enough and pepper can be put on according to each persons own taste preference. I'll make it again using different liquids and veggies. It's quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starla Wicks-Heath

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Nice but you couldn't taste the herbs and spices :( so was a bit bland i added lemon juice yum! but this recipe made TOO MUCH QUINOA and not enough vegies! still tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was a fine side dish. My 1 year old loved it which makes me a happy mama. The cumin gave the quinoa a wonderful aroma, but the taste was lacking a bit so I'll pump it up with some spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States