Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. I added an assortment of other veggies I had on hand. Love the mix of sweet onion and potato with the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was the first time I've tried quinoa and it was really good. Even my picky husband enjoyed it. I used regular mushrooms since thats what I had on hand and I didn't use the nuts. It was a little too spicy for me, but thats the way my husband likes it! I will definetly make this again, maybe next time I will try and add extra veggies and a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and I'm glad I tried it this recipe is great, simple and easy to make and lends itself well to substitutions/improvisation thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was very good, and easy to make. i'd never cooked/tasted quinoa before, and was pleased; it did however take more like 12-13 minutes for my quinoa to cook instead of 20. i added extra cayenne for more heat, but that's simply personal taste; thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have been meaning to try quinoa for a long time, and am so happy that I tried it with this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is an excellent vegetarian/vegan dish! Very flavorful. I used 1 1/2 cups of portabella mushrooms, added 1/4 water to the vegetable pan before covering, and increased the cayenne pepper just a bit, which gave this a nice kick. Some fresh spinach added into the vegatable pan in the last 5 minutes would also be great! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We all really liked this, including my 6 and 2 year olds! I did use cumin instead of cayenne, but only because my boys are still "new" to spice, but this is a great recipe that invites experimentation, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Definitely a keeper! We loved it! I substituted paprika for cayenne. We were pretty hungry so I added some spicy Italian chicken sausage, although it'd be great meatless too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I have a husband that needs to have flavorful food, and he really enjoyed this one. We ate it for breakfast! I was able to get it ready faster than the time specified (took me about 45 minutes). If using as a main dish, have a protein on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Simply delicious! No nuts for me with my allergies, but a wonderful way to dress up the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States