Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was the first time I've tried quinoa and it was really good. Even my picky husband enjoyed it. I used regular mushrooms since thats what I had on hand and I didn't use the nuts. It was a little too spicy for me, but thats the way my husband likes it! I will definetly make this again, maybe next time I will try and add extra veggies and a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and I'm glad I tried it this recipe is great, simple and easy to make and lends itself well to substitutions/improvisation thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was very good, and easy to make. i'd never cooked/tasted quinoa before, and was pleased; it did however take more like 12-13 minutes for my quinoa to cook instead of 20. i added extra cayenne for more heat, but that's simply personal taste; thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have been meaning to try quinoa for a long time, and am so happy that I tried it with this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is an excellent vegetarian/vegan dish! Very flavorful. I used 1 1/2 cups of portabella mushrooms, added 1/4 water to the vegetable pan before covering, and increased the cayenne pepper just a bit, which gave this a nice kick. Some fresh spinach added into the vegatable pan in the last 5 minutes would also be great! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We all really liked this, including my 6 and 2 year olds! I did use cumin instead of cayenne, but only because my boys are still "new" to spice, but this is a great recipe that invites experimentation, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Definitely a keeper! We loved it! I substituted paprika for cayenne. We were pretty hungry so I added some spicy Italian chicken sausage, although it'd be great meatless too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I have a husband that needs to have flavorful food, and he really enjoyed this one. We ate it for breakfast! I was able to get it ready faster than the time specified (took me about 45 minutes). If using as a main dish, have a protein on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. I added an assortment of other veggies I had on hand. Love the mix of sweet onion and potato with the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Simply delicious! No nuts for me with my allergies, but a wonderful way to dress up the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States