Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was the first time I've tried quinoa and it was really good. Even my picky husband enjoyed it. I used regular mushrooms since thats what I had on hand and I didn't use the nuts. It was a little too spicy for me, but thats the way my husband likes it! I will definetly make this again, maybe next time I will try and add extra veggies and a little less cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was my first time cooking quinoa and I'm glad I tried it this recipe is great, simple and easy to make and lends itself well to substitutions/improvisation thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
this was very good, and easy to make. i'd never cooked/tasted quinoa before, and was pleased; it did however take more like 12-13 minutes for my quinoa to cook instead of 20. i added extra cayenne for more heat, but that's simply personal taste; thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I have been meaning to try quinoa for a long time, and am so happy that I tried it with this recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BATCAVES
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is an excellent vegetarian/vegan dish! Very flavorful. I used 1 1/2 cups of portabella mushrooms, added 1/4 water to the vegetable pan before covering, and increased the cayenne pepper just a bit, which gave this a nice kick. Some fresh spinach added into the vegatable pan in the last 5 minutes would also be great! I'll be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
We all really liked this, including my 6 and 2 year olds! I did use cumin instead of cayenne, but only because my boys are still "new" to spice, but this is a great recipe that invites experimentation, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Overall a good and healthy recipe. I just thought it need a bit more flavor so I sprinkled in a little Goya Adobo seasonings. It was good but; still needed a little something. Next time I think I will use chicken or veggie broth to cook the quinoa. I diced the sweet potato very small and added frozen peas for extra color and texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
My husband would definitely NOT eat this, and I couldn't blame him. I found it edible with some sharp cheddar on top, but not good. Funny, though, our 2 year old daughter loved it, so I guess I've gotta give it at least two stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Very easy, but a bit spicy, and though it's tasty, it needs something I can't quite put my finger on. This one's absolutely a keeper, it just needs to be toyed with a bit for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Definitely a keeper! We loved it! I substituted paprika for cayenne. We were pretty hungry so I added some spicy Italian chicken sausage, although it'd be great meatless too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States