Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I was really shocked at how good this recipe was! It's not a combination I would have expected to be this savory and filling. We served it as a main dish with a side salad and it made a great dinner. I will steam a little more quinoa next time to stretch it out a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
To my surprise this was very good. We have been trying out new recipes and this one definately goes into my recipe box. The only addtion I made to the dish was adding a small amount of agave for a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good, healthy side dish. I cooked the quinoa in low sodium chicken broth and saved time by buying a bag of raw sweet potato sticks from Trader Joes that could be quickly diced. I also had a really big shallot and used that instead of the onion, but either one would work just fine. Decided to make it again a couple of weeks later, but oh no! forgot the sweet potatoes. Easy fix with a big handful of shredded carrots we use for salads. Blended perfectly with the onions and mushrooms, and that little zing of cayenne was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I couldn't find quinoa at either of the two grocery stores I tried (I think I need to go to a Whole Foods) so I substituted 1/2 c. of cooked brown rice in the last 5 minutes of cooking. I used mini bella mushrooms in place of crimini (couldn't find them either). My boyfriend and I really loved this dish with the alterations, but I will be making it again with the correct ingredients at some point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Doubled the recipe and it came out great. Added half white and half crimini mushrooms and added more cayenne to make it a bit more spicy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
"one onion' is a loose measure and apparently my onion was too big (and we LOVE onions at our house). Here are a few tips/things I'll try next time: TIME SAVER: Microwave your sweet potato and then add it to the pot so you don't to wait 20 mins. Worked out great. KID FRIENDLY: Subtract cayenne and mushrooms, add cinnamon and dried cranberries; use 1/2 an onion not a whole MONEY SAVER: Use Craisins instead of dried cranberries Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Made this for lunch today. Used veggie stock instead of evoo and water. Came out perfect. Did add some spinach at the end to wilt. Certainly made for a full meal deal. My husband loved it and thought it very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Love this dish! I left out the mushrooms and cayenne and added 1/8 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 cup of chopped dried cranberries - and served it underneath the Fragrant Chicken Curry recipe from this site. Yummy and so healthy! Be sure to rinse your quinoa in cold water before cooking - it takes the bitter flavor away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Yum! I added a sprinkle of turmeric and a little cinnamon for those people who are looking for it to have a little something extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This turned out fabulous even though I didn't have an onion. Warm, yummy, healthy, easy-on-the-tummy comfort food :) Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States