Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I'm not sure what I think of this one. Admitedly, I subbed the cayenne with cinnamon to make it more kid friendly but it seemed like it was a bit blah. I wasn't shy with the onion or garlic so I expected it to have more flavor. But, I still like the concept and think it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Kinghorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Pretty good but a bit bland. I added some cinnamon like mentioned and sauteed chicken. There was something missing. Next time I am going to add a chunked up apple and maybe raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I like all the ingredients in this, but it needs a sauce so something to make it interesting. The cayenne adds heat, but other than that there isn't anything that gives this a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My family LOVED this! So, so good! I used pre-sliced criminis...an 8 oz package, and increased the quinoa to one cup with 2 cups water. I made the sweet potato/mushroom mixture in advance (be careful, it will turn to mush if you cook it for 20 mins). This may sound odd, but I added a pinch of apple pie spice to the sweet potato mixture...just added a depth and warmth to the overall flavor. Also, I was always taught to rinse your quinoa well before using to remove the resin, which can make it bitter. This will be a regular in my house...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Love this recipe!! I cooked the quinoa in vegetable stock instead of water which added a ton of flavor. I also added some cumin. Next time I would probably add more quinoa though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yummy comfort food!! I made it according to the recipe, but next time I will add chicken broth instead of water as the vegetables are cooking. I also sprinkled it with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginna C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I love this recipe. I replaced the pecans for almond. Turns our great. Great for first time quinoa recipes! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my second attempt at quinoa and had a MUCH better outcome. I added only a dash of cyanne due to the kids. My kids picky kid, picked out the mushrooms and onion, but 3 year-old ate it up. My husband (who doesn't care for mushrooms) said that it was good. Would make again. Also, the pecans were a perfect addition...they are a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Used a cup of quinoa and 2 cups of chicken broth and then followed the recipe as is. 20 minutest o cook the sweet potatoes was too long--about 12 minutes should do it. Was really fantastic, great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States