Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This tasted like what it is - quinoa, sweet potato and mushrooms. It was not a cohesive dish and lacked flavor. The textures did not go together well. Perhaps baking the sweet potato separately would be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Sorry, this just didn't hit the spot with us. I went back after dinner to look at the recipe again to see if I forgot something. Nope...I only used a sprinkle of cayenne and my husband said that was more than enough. I added cinnamon as another reviewer suggested, and that helped a bit. It sounded so promising for our plant based diet, but the flavor just wasn't there. Are crimini mushrooms different than the common white mushrooms that I used? Wish I could think of some interesting herb or spice to perk it up, aside from pepper, as I doubled the recipe and have lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I left out the pecans. It was an interesting combination and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Yum! This was excellent! Only change was to cook the quinoa in homemade vegetable stock, and I probably doubled the mushrooms (had to use some up). Oh, and I omitted the pecans. Really tasty! I would probably halve the cayenne next time - it was just a bit overpowering, but I still loved this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a tasty dish, but I agree with other reviewers who said it needs a little something extra. We added a dash of ground coriander but still felt like something was missing. The toasted pecans are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Pretty good, but not too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Good! I used 1 cup of dried mixed mushrooms instead of fresh. After rehydrating them, I strained that broth and used it to cook the quinoa instead of water. And I doubled the amount of quinoa just 'cause I like the stuff. I did not add the pecans just because I didn't want them. The mushrooms added a nice meatiness to this dish. I'm sure I'll be making this again. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Very tasty and colorful. Easy to make. A definite keeper and one dish that I will be making regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I still love the quinoa with corn and black beans from this site the best but this is a close second. After reading reviews I used low sodium chicken broth to cook my quinoa, omitted the salt and added a little bit of broth to the veggies so they wouldn't stick to the pan. I halved the cayenne pepper and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. I also doubled the amount of quinoa, sweet potatoes and mushrooms. (Make sure to increase amount of broth used to cook the doubled quinoa). After everything was done cooking I mixed the quinoa in with the veggies. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I am going to be making this recipe for years and years to come! I added more quinoa though- I love it and there wasn't quite enough in this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Barber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States