Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I probably wouldn't have ever tried quinoa except that this was on the allrecipes homepage. I paired it with my homemade version of samosas and some spaghetti squash and my husband declared it the best meal he's ever eaten. That's a high compliment since he's an all-american meat-eater and I'm a vegetarian. One caveat, we both like spicy food so I increased the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Seems this is either a love it or hate it recipe and I'm going to have to agree with others....it's missing something but I can't quite put my finger on it. As written this MIGHT serve 3 people, definately not 4. It was nice to have a new Quinoa recipe to try but I don't think I'll fixing this again anytime soon. P.S. We are vegetarians who LOVE all the ingredients in this recipe...just not in this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy to make and tasted good. I agree with other reviewers, it needs more flavor. No ideas on what to add though. I served steamed green beans as a side and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
very filling. i'd make it again, but without the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This tasted like what it is - quinoa, sweet potato and mushrooms. It was not a cohesive dish and lacked flavor. The textures did not go together well. Perhaps baking the sweet potato separately would be good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Sorry, this just didn't hit the spot with us. I went back after dinner to look at the recipe again to see if I forgot something. Nope...I only used a sprinkle of cayenne and my husband said that was more than enough. I added cinnamon as another reviewer suggested, and that helped a bit. It sounded so promising for our plant based diet, but the flavor just wasn't there. Are crimini mushrooms different than the common white mushrooms that I used? Wish I could think of some interesting herb or spice to perk it up, aside from pepper, as I doubled the recipe and have lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I left out the pecans. It was an interesting combination and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChristineM
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Yum! This was excellent! Only change was to cook the quinoa in homemade vegetable stock, and I probably doubled the mushrooms (had to use some up). Oh, and I omitted the pecans. Really tasty! I would probably halve the cayenne next time - it was just a bit overpowering, but I still loved this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This is a tasty dish, but I agree with other reviewers who said it needs a little something extra. We added a dash of ground coriander but still felt like something was missing. The toasted pecans are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Pretty good, but not too exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States