Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I used amaranth instead of the quinoa and button mushrooms instead of the crimini ones. Although I like the grain by itself and the sweet potato-mushroom combination, the two didn't really go together. I think the flavors were competing for attention in my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I followed the suggestion of others to replace at least some of the cayenne pepper with cinnamon (I did half and half each) and it was delicious. I think if I had put in all of the Cayenne pepper it would of been too spicy for my taste, but if you like it that way go for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this with cinnamon and it was was wonderful. It was gone pretty fast. Great as a pre-workout meal. I had lots on energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Really tasty! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Loved this. Have made Quinoa many times but this was the best combination. I had to make some adjustments based on what ingedients that I had. - used regular mushrooms, red pepper flakes and did not have pecans, but is was all good. I did use vegetable stock instead of water and did use some of it to keep the vegetable mixture moist. I followed advice of someone else and actually did step 2 first. LOVED this. It was even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This recipe was awesome! I probably wouldn't have ever tried quinoa except that this was on the allrecipes homepage. I paired it with my homemade version of samosas and some spaghetti squash and my husband declared it the best meal he's ever eaten. That's a high compliment since he's an all-american meat-eater and I'm a vegetarian. One caveat, we both like spicy food so I increased the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Seems this is either a love it or hate it recipe and I'm going to have to agree with others....it's missing something but I can't quite put my finger on it. As written this MIGHT serve 3 people, definately not 4. It was nice to have a new Quinoa recipe to try but I don't think I'll fixing this again anytime soon. P.S. We are vegetarians who LOVE all the ingredients in this recipe...just not in this combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy to make and tasted good. I agree with other reviewers, it needs more flavor. No ideas on what to add though. I served steamed green beans as a side and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
very filling. i'd make it again, but without the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States