Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Substituted chicken stock for the water which gives the quinoa a great taste on its own. Added a 1/2 diced red pepper to the mushroom/sweet potato mixture.....fabulous veggie main or size. Two thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I'm confused by the first instruction. Do you just cook dry quinoa with no oil for five minutes? Mine just burnt and made my whole house smell like burnt popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good and easy to make. Will keep this recipe. I cooked the quinoa in a rice cooker. And I used a bit of vegetable broth so the veggies wouldn't stick to the pan. Next time I make this I might cook the potatoes first in a microwave or separately, so it doesn't take so long to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I love this recipe! I omitted the pecans, used veggie stock in lieu of water, used a 1/2 cup of quinoa (and will add even more next time), used avocado oil and almond oil in lieu of olive oil (to boost monounsaturated fat content even higher), and used oil when "toasting" the quinoa to make it even fluffier. The heat is subtle and slow growing, it did not overpower the other flavors at all. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was super yummy! I loved it! I used barley instead of quinoa only because that's what was in my pantry and used more chili to suit my taste and it was delish! I will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I love this recipe. Sometimes I add dried cranberries for some extra texture and sweetness if I don't have pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Pfirrmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I halved the cayenne and added some turmeric and cinnamon. I like all of the ingredients and thought it would be delicious, but overall it was just ok. I agree with the other reviewers who said it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I baked the sweet potatoes beforehand. Turned out pretty well. I would give it around 3.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Loved this! I did add a little cinnamon towards the end, and will reduce the cayenne just a tad next time I make it. Overall this was a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Yum! I used a large sweet potato, half of a medium onion, a container of baby portabella mushrooms, garlic, 2 good handfuls of baby spinach (at the very end of cooking), half of a red pepper, a few dashes of cinnamon, a dash of chile powder and paprika, and a little maple syrup and honey. Delishhh, especially over the quinoa. Very filling and nutritious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States