Quinoa with Sweet Potato and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I liked this recipe very much. I used portobello mushrooms because that is what I had in the fridge. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Instead of cayenne I added canned chipotle peppers in adobe sauce. These peppers are VERY spicy, use sparingly. I halved the original recipe portion and only used one small pepper, discarded seeds and chopped very fine. It added the perfect smokey kick to this recipe. I have recently incorporated quinoa into my diet and this is a great recipe for the fall, very earthy with the mushrooms and toasted pecans. And I think any winter squash would be great in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good. Make again. Just a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Awesome! I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out fantastic. The sweet potatoes and pecans give this dish plenty of flavor. I did have to add water to keep the vegetables from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I love this recipe. My kids do not go for spicy things so I used cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and agave nectar instead of cayenne. It went welll with the sweet potato...next time Ill even season the quenoa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elektra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love finding new recipes using quinoa. This one was a little spicy for me. Next time I'll make the following modifications: 1, replace ¼ t cayenne with ¼ t cinnamon (cinnamon is the perfect companion for sweet potatoes and pecans); 2, begin preparing and cooking the vegetables first (before cooking the quinoa); 3, add an extra tablespoon of olive oil prior to adding the mushrooms, sweet potatoes and spices; 4, five minutes into cooking the vegetables add ¼ cup of water to the vegetables. I loved this so much, I’m thinking of adding this to our Thanksgiving menu. Thank you lep413 for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I was really concerned until I mixed everything together. Then the flavors mixed just right and it turned our great! Nice vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a very healthy recipe, but overral this dish was ok. I thought the sweet potato was soggy and it didn't have much flavor. I would add different veggies next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Really good stuff! Turned out better than I expected - even my partner liked it! And he's rarely into things that's out of the norm (i.e. other than pasta, roast meat, veges, beans, chips etc). I added peas to give it some colour. Also, added a couple of sticks of celery which seems to really add that extra something that seems missing otherwise...also tossed in a couple of small fresh chillies in for an extra spice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
This was pretty good flavor wise. The only thing I didn't like was how smushy the potatoes got. I put the left overs in the broiler for a while untill the potatoes crisped up a bit. It was much better after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States