Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Some adjustment & it was great!! Used red quinoa which I cooked 20 min with only 2 1/2 c. chicken broth on medium. Added fresh pepper & garlic salt & 1/2 c. of fresh parmesan & 1/4 c. of fresh cilantro. Everything else was as recipe. LIKED so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bauerboo
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Turned out well, except I should have browned the quinoa longer. I added some salt and pepper along with some rosemary and parsley at the end. Flavors melded perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland Park, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Since i'm the only one eating quinoa in my family, I had to adjust the amount of quinoa to broth ratio. I used 3/4 cup quinoa, 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth. I deglazed the pan of mushroom & onion mixture with Marsala wine and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Soooo good! Will definitely make this again!! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. I've recently started a clean eating diet and this fits right in. I did change the olive oil and butter to coconut oil (same amounts)and omitted the cheese. It tasted fantastic! Thanks for sharing your creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great tasting recipe, however, it definitely needs some salt, otherwise it is quite bland. I'm a huge fan of quinoa and try to eat it at least once a week so I was excited to try this! I made this recipe exactly as written, and agree with the others about 10 minutes being too short of a cooking time. I kept cooking it until all the liquid was absorbed, and at that point (about 20 mins), the quinoa was too mushy. My recommendation is to only use 2.5 cups of liquid and to cook it for 15 mins. I will definitely make this again with the above changes, and with adding in about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp of salt. A great side to serve with chicken or fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I just made this last night and it was great! My husband & kids loved it...I even surprised myself. I made it according to the directions, I only doubled the recipe to have lots of leftovers. I did sprinkle on some salt/pepper as it was cooking. I will experiment next time w/other veggies & fresh spinach. I also used "red" quinoa which was fine. Loved the color! No taste difference from the regular. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Only one word to add: delicious!! Cut the calories by not using butter and just cooked the quinoa like the package suggests. Also only used about 1tsp. of oil vs. 1 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I am surprised to say that I really really enjoyed this! I added 12 ounces of mushrooms instead of 8 and cooked the quiona for about 15 minutes. Possibly a bit more. At 10 minutes it still had TONS of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ciara_williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I prepared this recipe with only a few minor adjustments. I cooked my quinoa with 2 cups of chicken stock and 1 TBSP of butter for 15 minutes. I left it on the stove (off the heat and covered) for 5 minutes before fluffing it with a fork. I then cooked my mushrooms with the dehydrated onion I had on hand and chopped garlic. I used a bit of bacon grease I had left over from morning breakfast. I de-glazed the pan with the chicken broth and let it cook down until it was nice and saucy before I added it and the cheese to the hot quinoa. I must say, while flavorful, this dish is missing something. What that something is, I don't know, but it needs more spice or something. I am going to add cooked zucchini and yellow squash next time, and maybe some rotisserie Chicken. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States