Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Okay well the thing is...I love quinoa, but something just isn't quite right with this recipe. I love the flavor of the toasted quinoa, delicious, and it cuts the cooking time quite a bit. The mushrooms were too much for me and my husband and without thickening the broth it is runny - maybe cut the liquid a bit? Also the dish really just ends up tasting like whatever broth you use and mushrooms. I love the idea and will fiddle with it to see if I can find something we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was my first recipe to try using quinoa and I really liked it (though I thought the cooked quinoa was a bit strange looking when it's cooked, I'm still trying not to look at it too much! haha...). I added some finely chopped celery and carrots, fresh spinach and mini baby vine tomatoes for colour. I didn't have any parmesan so I used a mature white cheddar and added a tiny bit of soy sauce and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipes rocks! SO GOOD! My husband hates quinoa and loved this recipe, my 4 year old had a huge second helping. The only thing I changed was smart balance instead of butter, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except for leaving out the parmesan cheese since I planned to use this as a rice substitute to serve with portabello mushroom gravy. I figured that since gravy is fattening enough, I should try to make a more nutritious side dish than white rice! We really enjoyed this dish, but next time I will add garlic salt and onion powder for a boost in flavor since quinoa tends to be a little blah sometimes. Thanks for a great recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Delicious! I love quinoa and always lookin' for a new recipe to use this grain. I halved the recipe and totally omitted the butter and cheese for calorie reasons. I did add some dried thyme leaves to the mix and a can of drained/rinsed canelli beans for more protein and fiber. I had this with sauteed spinach and garlic, and a tossed salad. Great Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
The mushroom-onion combination creates a nice, saucy broth so when you add it to the quinoa that flavor gets soaked in. Then the cheese gives it a little creamy kick when you bite into it! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy! The quinoa has to be cooked for 20 min not 10; I think that was a typo. I substitute olive oil for the butter and used salted water with a bay leaf and a couple dashes on Braggs seasoning instead of chicken broth, as I didnt have any and wanted to keep in vegetarian. I added a bit of chees but it wasnt necessary. It was close to risotto, but much healthier. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this one according to the instructions (with a slight embellishment on the cheese and added pepper to taste). I had no problem with the liquid to dry ratio nor cook time. It's an earthy tasting dish, which is great for a comfort food that is very high in protein. I only gave it three stars because it wasn't the kind of slap-you-across-the-face deliciousness that I have found in other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was the first time I made quinoa, and I'll certainly be making it again. This was great, also I can see this being a great base recipe for adding other veggies in such as zucchini, yellow squash, spinach, or egg plant. Great when you want to have a meatless dish...use vegetable broth. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wouldn't change a thing. Had to cook longer than stated but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States