Quinoa with Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Okay well the thing is...I love quinoa, but something just isn't quite right with this recipe. I love the flavor of the toasted quinoa, delicious, and it cuts the cooking time quite a bit. The mushrooms were too much for me and my husband and without thickening the broth it is runny - maybe cut the liquid a bit? Also the dish really just ends up tasting like whatever broth you use and mushrooms. I love the idea and will fiddle with it to see if I can find something we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was my first recipe to try using quinoa and I really liked it (though I thought the cooked quinoa was a bit strange looking when it's cooked, I'm still trying not to look at it too much! haha...). I added some finely chopped celery and carrots, fresh spinach and mini baby vine tomatoes for colour. I didn't have any parmesan so I used a mature white cheddar and added a tiny bit of soy sauce and it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipes rocks! SO GOOD! My husband hates quinoa and loved this recipe, my 4 year old had a huge second helping. The only thing I changed was smart balance instead of butter, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly except for leaving out the parmesan cheese since I planned to use this as a rice substitute to serve with portabello mushroom gravy. I figured that since gravy is fattening enough, I should try to make a more nutritious side dish than white rice! We really enjoyed this dish, but next time I will add garlic salt and onion powder for a boost in flavor since quinoa tends to be a little blah sometimes. Thanks for a great recipe, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Delicious! I love quinoa and always lookin' for a new recipe to use this grain. I halved the recipe and totally omitted the butter and cheese for calorie reasons. I did add some dried thyme leaves to the mix and a can of drained/rinsed canelli beans for more protein and fiber. I had this with sauteed spinach and garlic, and a tossed salad. Great Dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
The mushroom-onion combination creates a nice, saucy broth so when you add it to the quinoa that flavor gets soaked in. Then the cheese gives it a little creamy kick when you bite into it! I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Very easy! The quinoa has to be cooked for 20 min not 10; I think that was a typo. I substitute olive oil for the butter and used salted water with a bay leaf and a couple dashes on Braggs seasoning instead of chicken broth, as I didnt have any and wanted to keep in vegetarian. I added a bit of chees but it wasnt necessary. It was close to risotto, but much healthier. I will make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made this one according to the instructions (with a slight embellishment on the cheese and added pepper to taste). I had no problem with the liquid to dry ratio nor cook time. It's an earthy tasting dish, which is great for a comfort food that is very high in protein. I only gave it three stars because it wasn't the kind of slap-you-across-the-face deliciousness that I have found in other recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was the first time I made quinoa, and I'll certainly be making it again. This was great, also I can see this being a great base recipe for adding other veggies in such as zucchini, yellow squash, spinach, or egg plant. Great when you want to have a meatless dish...use vegetable broth. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wouldn't change a thing. Had to cook longer than stated but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States