Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This one is a keeper, I substituted cilantro for the parsley and added avocados and red onions. Oh my, it even got better after sitting for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wow! This is a great recipe. I made a few modifications to it to make it perfect for me- I used a whole can of mixed beans instead of chick peas/garbanzo beans, increased the 'dressing' by half and that included the garlic, used grape/cherry tomatoes sliced in half AND used one-half cup chopped fresh cilantro instead of the parsley. I know the vegetarians where I work will just LOVE this recipe. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I found a very similar recipe on another site and followed that one's suggestion of using 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro instead of the parsley. I used an entire can of garbanzo beans & more garlic. I also sauteed some chopped onion and wilted a head of spinach with a little more olive oil and tossed that with the mixture. Very flavorful mixture - especially after a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and made a few *tiny* alterations. I did 1/2c quinoa to 1c water (and then some), 2/3c garbanzo beans, a whole (small) tomato, 1 (HUGE) clove of garlic, 1.5 limes juiced, no olive oil (forgot), 1 tsp cumin, and half of a (small) red onion. Super tasty!! My boyfriend and I love it. The lime is great, and the red onion (per another member's suggestion) is totally necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I usually review the day after I have tried a recipe....but I wanted to say how much I loved this recipe! So yummy! I used cherry tomatoes which I quartered, and only used 1/2 c. quinoa to 1c. water. I also added only 2tsp. evoo. LOVED the freshness of the lime juice, parlsey and garlic. Will most definately make again. A great dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Super yummy. I customized, though - added more garlic, cayenne, onion, broccoli, fresh basil, oregano, chopped walnuts, then topped it with diced cucumber, a sprinkle of kalamata olives, and feta. Lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and it was great! Super easy for a busy mom. I didn't have any quinoa on hand, so I used couscous. I also added zucchini, yellow squash, and green onions, and I sauteed chickpeas and veggies while the couscous was cooking. I also added lime juice, cumin, and parsley to the couscous. My 2 year old daughter wasn't a big fan of the lime and cumin flavors, so I squeezed a bit of orange on hers and the sweetness from the orange balanced out the tangy. It was very good this way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yogini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This reminds me of my favorite quinoa recipe that uses black beans. The chickpeas were a nice change! My family really enjoyed this recipe. It's great room temperature, cold, and works well if you need a side dish for a picnic that doesn't have mayonnaise. A great way to introduce a new food to your friends & family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I loved this. It could have used some onion, but that's about all I would have changed. My quinoa took only about 7 or 8 minutes to cook, so this came together more quickly than I expected. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Instead of chickpeas, I stir fried some chicken with the garlic and olive oil and a little onion. I cooked the quinoa as per recipe, and added spices and tomatoes before serving. It was delish! (Would be great with chickpeas too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States