Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was really good! As directed it was a bit sour for my taste so I had to drain some of the liquid off, but otherwise it was very tasty. I didn't have chickpeas so I used black beans instead and two roma tomatoes and some spring onion. Served it room temperature. Next time I'll add 2 tablespoons of lime juice and 3 tablespoons of olive oil and add more to taste after. Still, a very good dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is great! When I eat this, I actually feel like I am doing something healthy for my body. Great with chopped grilled chciken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
wow, this was great! This was my first time making quinoa, and it was pretty easy! I added sauteed red and green bell peppers (diced), and had to use some home-canned tomatoes (thanks Grandma), and used the chickpea juice in the cooking water for the quinoa. I mostly added this stuff because I just need to eat more veggies hehe... Great recipe! Also, it DOES taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently is that I toasted the quinoa in the sauce pan in 1 tsp of the olive oil for 5 mins before adding the water. This decreased the cooking time to 15 mins; this gave the quinoa a nutty flavor. Next time I'll add chicken as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I was surprised by how tasty this was. I thought, just looking at the ingredients, that there wouldn't be enough flavor, but it was great! Like others, I subbed cilantro for parsley, and used red quinoa (what I had on hand). A great vegetarian/vegan meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and made a few *tiny* alterations. I did 1/2c quinoa to 1c water (and then some), 2/3c garbanzo beans, a whole (small) tomato, 1 (HUGE) clove of garlic, 1.5 limes juiced, no olive oil (forgot), 1 tsp cumin, and half of a (small) red onion. Super tasty!! My boyfriend and I love it. The lime is great, and the red onion (per another member's suggestion) is totally necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
DELICIOUS!!!! Love this recipe and love finding new things to do with Quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great easy recipe for a short night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Nice vegetarian side dish. The tomatoes make for a potent acid taste, but I think a little extra salt and pepper would take care of that. If you have vegetarian friends surprise them with this dish rather than copping out with a salad for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malevolentmuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is delicious! I sauteed onions and cooked the quinoa with chicken broth. I used garlic olive oil and cilantro instead of parsley and added an extra clove of garlic. Also used grape tomatoes and added diced cucumber. Fantastic! I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States