Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and it was great! Super easy for a busy mom. I didn't have any quinoa on hand, so I used couscous. I also added zucchini, yellow squash, and green onions, and I sauteed chickpeas and veggies while the couscous was cooking. I also added lime juice, cumin, and parsley to the couscous. My 2 year old daughter wasn't a big fan of the lime and cumin flavors, so I squeezed a bit of orange on hers and the sweetness from the orange balanced out the tangy. It was very good this way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yogini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I loved this. It could have used some onion, but that's about all I would have changed. My quinoa took only about 7 or 8 minutes to cook, so this came together more quickly than I expected. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This reminds me of my favorite quinoa recipe that uses black beans. The chickpeas were a nice change! My family really enjoyed this recipe. It's great room temperature, cold, and works well if you need a side dish for a picnic that doesn't have mayonnaise. A great way to introduce a new food to your friends & family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I usually review the day after I have tried a recipe....but I wanted to say how much I loved this recipe! So yummy! I used cherry tomatoes which I quartered, and only used 1/2 c. quinoa to 1c. water. I also added only 2tsp. evoo. LOVED the freshness of the lime juice, parlsey and garlic. Will most definately make again. A great dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wow! This is a great recipe. I made a few modifications to it to make it perfect for me- I used a whole can of mixed beans instead of chick peas/garbanzo beans, increased the 'dressing' by half and that included the garlic, used grape/cherry tomatoes sliced in half AND used one-half cup chopped fresh cilantro instead of the parsley. I know the vegetarians where I work will just LOVE this recipe. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
i really loved this dish. i followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. it disappeared very quickly between myself and my hubby. he loved it too. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I loved this! It was a nice light summer dinner. I used lemon juice because it's what I had, and I thought it turned out great. I added a little bit of chile powder to give it a bit of spice. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Awesome dish. The cumin and garlic give it a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Tarsus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly and it was WONDERFUL! The quinoa didn't take as long to cook, maybe 15 minutes, so keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS!! it was my first time cooking with Quinoa and it was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States