Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This one is a keeper, I substituted cilantro for the parsley and added avocados and red onions. Oh my, it even got better after sitting for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wow! This is a great recipe. I made a few modifications to it to make it perfect for me- I used a whole can of mixed beans instead of chick peas/garbanzo beans, increased the 'dressing' by half and that included the garlic, used grape/cherry tomatoes sliced in half AND used one-half cup chopped fresh cilantro instead of the parsley. I know the vegetarians where I work will just LOVE this recipe. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I found a very similar recipe on another site and followed that one's suggestion of using 2 tablespoons fresh cilantro instead of the parsley. I used an entire can of garbanzo beans & more garlic. I also sauteed some chopped onion and wilted a head of spinach with a little more olive oil and tossed that with the mixture. Very flavorful mixture - especially after a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Delicious! I halved the recipe and made a few *tiny* alterations. I did 1/2c quinoa to 1c water (and then some), 2/3c garbanzo beans, a whole (small) tomato, 1 (HUGE) clove of garlic, 1.5 limes juiced, no olive oil (forgot), 1 tsp cumin, and half of a (small) red onion. Super tasty!! My boyfriend and I love it. The lime is great, and the red onion (per another member's suggestion) is totally necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I usually review the day after I have tried a recipe....but I wanted to say how much I loved this recipe! So yummy! I used cherry tomatoes which I quartered, and only used 1/2 c. quinoa to 1c. water. I also added only 2tsp. evoo. LOVED the freshness of the lime juice, parlsey and garlic. Will most definately make again. A great dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Super yummy. I customized, though - added more garlic, cayenne, onion, broccoli, fresh basil, oregano, chopped walnuts, then topped it with diced cucumber, a sprinkle of kalamata olives, and feta. Lovely flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I made this recipe tonight, and it was great! Super easy for a busy mom. I didn't have any quinoa on hand, so I used couscous. I also added zucchini, yellow squash, and green onions, and I sauteed chickpeas and veggies while the couscous was cooking. I also added lime juice, cumin, and parsley to the couscous. My 2 year old daughter wasn't a big fan of the lime and cumin flavors, so I squeezed a bit of orange on hers and the sweetness from the orange balanced out the tangy. It was very good this way, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yogini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This reminds me of my favorite quinoa recipe that uses black beans. The chickpeas were a nice change! My family really enjoyed this recipe. It's great room temperature, cold, and works well if you need a side dish for a picnic that doesn't have mayonnaise. A great way to introduce a new food to your friends & family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I loved this. It could have used some onion, but that's about all I would have changed. My quinoa took only about 7 or 8 minutes to cook, so this came together more quickly than I expected. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Instead of chickpeas, I stir fried some chicken with the garlic and olive oil and a little onion. I cooked the quinoa as per recipe, and added spices and tomatoes before serving. It was delish! (Would be great with chickpeas too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States