Quinoa with Chicken, Asparagus and Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was simply and quick. Like others, I added basil and oregano. I used asparagus, zucchini, celery and tomato. That's what I had and you can really throw anything into this. I also added 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, and 1 Tbsp rice vinegar because I like a "sauce". It was very good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This turned out really well. Was delicious. We even accidentally forgot the red peppers (which were a pretty big part of it) and it still tasted great. The next night we made a variation with the red pepper we forgot and pears, which was surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Pretty bland as written. I even took other reviewers suggestions and added some chopped onion, minced garlic, basil and garlic salt. Then it was okay. Healthy, but just okay tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was looking for a recipe containing these ingredients and found a winner!! I read all the reviews to see the tweaks and changes. I combined most of them-sautéed onion, garlic,added a little basil and salt; used the leftover chicken broth to poach my chicken breasts and cooked the quinoa in that. Finally, I sprinkled some feta cheese on top and it was so yummy!! Definitely will make this again and share the recipe with friends and family that want to eat healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
The recipe was OK, but I made it a little healthier by cutting the mayo amount in half and substituting greek yogurt. Also, because I prefer a tarter tartar (ha ha) sauce, I use half sweet, half dill pickles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I like the base point of this recipe, but just by reading it felt that it lacked flavor. IMO it's not necessary to cook the quinoa in chicken broth. I cooked mine quickly in a rice cooker and then focused on adding more flavor to the stir fry. I started by sauteeing chopped onions, then added the asparagus and chicken. I also added button mushrooms I had lying around and some leftover cabbage kimchi. The kimchi was great and added a lot of tangy flavor. I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was really good with a few add-ins, suggested by other reviewers. I added sauteed onion, garlic, basil and oregano. I also coooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puggysmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome! Let me begin by saying that my husband and I are not vegetarian, vegan, or even all that healthy of eaters (though I'm working to change that). I have never used quinoa before. As an experiment, I bought some red quinoa and tried this recipe. I used coconut oil (no flavor), cut up chicken thighs, and per some suggestions, some garlic, green onion, pepper, basil, oregano, and a pinch of sea salt. HOLY COW! It was so good, I was amazed, and the nutty flavor of quinoa reminded me a bit of Chinese flavoring (think Cashew Chicken). I am now a quinoa convert, as is my husband AND my 3 year old! Thanks, Kris!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Been trying to cook more with quinoa since it's really quite an incredible grain. Aside from simply substituting it for rice I am always on the prowl for easy dinners that use it. This recipe looked like just the ticket for a quick mid-week dinner, except it did look a little bland, and my husband is not keen on asparagus. I had a bag of frozen spring vegetables with a cracked peppercorn seasoning (PictSweet Steamables) so I substituted that for the asparagus, there was red pepper in it, as well as a small amount of asparagus and some zucchini and green beans. So it seemed on par. Looking at other reviews, I also added some minced garlic, chopped onion and some Penzey's Tuscan Sunset spice blend (it's an Italian Style seasoning.) My husband walked in the door as I was cooking and exclaimed that the house smelled FANTASTIC. Another reviewer had mentioned that the meal was only 9 Weight Watcher points. He's on WW so when I told him that he was even happier. This easy to prepare meal, with ingredients I usually have on hand, will definitely be in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
this was really tasty. I added sautéed onions and garlic. A great way to get quinoa into your everyday diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States