Quinoa with Chicken, Asparagus and Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Husband and I both really enjoyed this. I modified recipe for 2 servings, used an 8-ounce b/s chicken breast, the same amount of asparagus and substituted jarred roasted red pepper for the bell pepper. Fast, super-easy and perfect for my Weight Watchers plan...only 9 points! And anytime husband says 'I like it,' it's a keeper! Thanks Kris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Im only giving it 3 stars because it was bland for my taste but has lots of potential. The second time I made it I changed a few things. I sauteed a small chopped onion, dash of red pepper flakes and 2 minced garlic cloves until translucent. Then added the chicken, salt, pepper, a dash or two of dried oregano and basil. This really upped the flavor without adding a ton of calories and turned it into a 5 star dish. Yum, yum. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was surprisigly good. Even my husband enjoyed it and he hates asparagus!! Only thing I did differently was used a cooked chicken from store. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was really good with a few add-ins, suggested by other reviewers. I added sauteed onion, garlic, basil and oregano. I also coooked the quinoa in chicken broth. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Spiegel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Been trying to cook more with quinoa since it's really quite an incredible grain. Aside from simply substituting it for rice I am always on the prowl for easy dinners that use it. This recipe looked like just the ticket for a quick mid-week dinner, except it did look a little bland, and my husband is not keen on asparagus. I had a bag of frozen spring vegetables with a cracked peppercorn seasoning (PictSweet Steamables) so I substituted that for the asparagus, there was red pepper in it, as well as a small amount of asparagus and some zucchini and green beans. So it seemed on par. Looking at other reviews, I also added some minced garlic, chopped onion and some Penzey's Tuscan Sunset spice blend (it's an Italian Style seasoning.) My husband walked in the door as I was cooking and exclaimed that the house smelled FANTASTIC. Another reviewer had mentioned that the meal was only 9 Weight Watcher points. He's on WW so when I told him that he was even happier. This easy to prepare meal, with ingredients I usually have on hand, will definitely be in the regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Pretty good. I liked the flavors, but it was missing something for me, maybe some seasonings or a light sauce to enhance the texture and tie the flavors together. Good and healthy as written, though, and very quick and easy! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome! Let me begin by saying that my husband and I are not vegetarian, vegan, or even all that healthy of eaters (though I'm working to change that). I have never used quinoa before. As an experiment, I bought some red quinoa and tried this recipe. I used coconut oil (no flavor), cut up chicken thighs, and per some suggestions, some garlic, green onion, pepper, basil, oregano, and a pinch of sea salt. HOLY COW! It was so good, I was amazed, and the nutty flavor of quinoa reminded me a bit of Chinese flavoring (think Cashew Chicken). I am now a quinoa convert, as is my husband AND my 3 year old! Thanks, Kris!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was simply and quick. Like others, I added basil and oregano. I used asparagus, zucchini, celery and tomato. That's what I had and you can really throw anything into this. I also added 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1 Tbsp sesame oil, and 1 Tbsp rice vinegar because I like a "sauce". It was very good this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This turned out really well. Was delicious. We even accidentally forgot the red peppers (which were a pretty big part of it) and it still tasted great. The next night we made a variation with the red pepper we forgot and pears, which was surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I was looking for a recipe containing these ingredients and found a winner!! I read all the reviews to see the tweaks and changes. I combined most of them-sautéed onion, garlic,added a little basil and salt; used the leftover chicken broth to poach my chicken breasts and cooked the quinoa in that. Finally, I sprinkled some feta cheese on top and it was so yummy!! Definitely will make this again and share the recipe with friends and family that want to eat healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken with Quinoa and Veggies

Sautéed chicken breasts with tasty veggies, nutty quinoa, feta, and fresh basil.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States