Quinoa with Carrots and Raisins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I followed the advice in other reviews and omitted the cilantro (my husband hates), and halved the pumpkin pie spice. It was a big hit at a church gathering, especially with the vegetarians in the group. I didn't have walnuts, but would add them next time, it would take it up a notch. Be prepared for your house to smell wonderful as an added bonus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie S
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very delicious dish. As you can see from my picture I served it with sauteed Brussels sprouts and loved every bite. I used parsley instead of cilantro because that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe is very good. Very flavorful! I omitted the onion (because I'm breastfeeding) and the cilantro (I'm not a fan). It still was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is a keeper. I omitted the cilantro because I don't care for it. The flavors were a little strong for my 3 year old so I will cut the pumpkin spice in half next time, but for grown ups it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good! Followed the recipe but added a few tablespoons of brown sugar and some salt. I didn't think the cilantro either added to took away from the dish-- will omit next time. I'll be making this dish again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I loved this recipe. It was a tasty and alternative way to make quinoa. I followed it exactly and it came out delicious. I liked the combination of the raisins with the sublte taste of the orange juice. After bringing it to a boil, it took about 20minutes covered on low to be just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Mmmm...This is REALLY good! I liked all the raisins, even if my husband thought it was a bit heavy-handed with them. I used parsley, instead of cilantro. My only complaint was the lack of instruction whether or not to keep it covered. I ended up, towards the end, covering it and adding a few extra minutes to the cooking time. It was my first time using this grain, and I learned the little balls become clearish with a white center and then little "tail-like" sprouts appear. It's a keeper, and I'm so glad I used this recipe as my first with this new food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I Made this for my family tonight and we loved it !!! I served it with asparagus that I saute with curry and garlic powder. It Was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
The hubby and I loved this. Didn't have pumpkin pie spice, so just used cinnamon. Still great. Also was short on raisins. Still very good, but we would have liked it better with the full amount. The raisins made the whole dish very sweet, even the onions. This will make great leftovers for breakfast. Almost like oatmeal. Good way to get veggies in for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Very good with Caribbean Vegetable stew
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assumption, Illinois, USA
Living In: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States