Quinoa with Asian Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I strongly recommend to rinse quinoa thoroughly before toasting it a little to remove its natural defense of bitterness & proceed w/the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is the best simple Quinoa recipe I have found so far, I did alter it a bit though. I used low sodium soy sauce, used two tablespoons grated fresh ginger. And for the onion (because I didn't have any green onions at the time) I used 1 tablespoon minced yellow onion and added it with the broth and other ingredients, then topped with crushed parsley. It was delicious as a healthy snack as well as a sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a nicely flavored quinoa, but I like to have some variation in texture, so I added arame (seaweed) and avocado, which for me would make this 5 stars. I also used veg broth instead of chicken. Nice, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is the best quinoa recipe I've tried so far. I think quinoa works with an asian flavor. It was a little too strong though. I would double quinoa, cut back the soy sauce, or use low sodium chicken stock (too salty) next time. Also add broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I really liked this recipe... gave real rich flavor... although I used toasted sesame oil and chopped up some carrots instead of the onions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just made this for lunch and it was awesome. I reduced the soy sauce to 1 TB and increased the garlic and ginger (1 small bulb, or about a dozen cloves and 1/4 minced fresh ginger). I think that the cooking time directed may be too long. My quinoa seemed done about 10 minutes sooner than described in the recipe. Over cooking quinoa ruins the texture. It becomes mushy and loses the mild crunchiness it has when cooked until the spirals start showing on the kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good... Made it in my rice cooker, and served it with slow cooker oriental chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was REALLY GOOD!!! I did find it a bit strong/salty so next time I will make adjustments per my taste. I cooked this in my rice pot and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I would do slightly less soy sauce next time. but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I love finding new ways to prepare quinoa, and this recipe is one that I really enjoyed. The only change I made was to use sesame oil rather than olive oil for that extra asian flavor. Some toasted peanuts or cashews would also give this dish some texture. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States