Quinoa with Asian Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Awesome. I'm new to this quinoa, so I've been experimenting with different ways to cook it. Never thought of this! This recipe's definitely a keeper. I added the carrots, celery, snap peas, as well as some cilantro at the end. Oh, and yes, the cooking time in the recipe is about 10 minutes too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was my first time trying Quinoa. I followed some of the other suggestions and added carrots, celery, peas, onions, and green onions that I cooked separately and added to the quinoa in the last 5 minutes. I also reduced the soy sauce even though I was using low salt soy sauce. Everyone loved it. I made it along with the slow cooker Mongolian Beef from this web site. That was also good. I messed up and added a little too much fresh ginger in it but still liked it. I steamed some fresh sugar snap peas to round out the meal. I will be making both recipes again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillyb831

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I wish I had made more because my family ate it and were looking for seconds. I was shocked because my kids usually complain when I make Asian dishes for dinner. I added chopped broccoli and carrots for added nutrition, texture, and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Just made this for lunch and it was awesome. I reduced the soy sauce to 1 TB and increased the garlic and ginger (1 small bulb, or about a dozen cloves and 1/4 minced fresh ginger). I think that the cooking time directed may be too long. My quinoa seemed done about 10 minutes sooner than described in the recipe. Over cooking quinoa ruins the texture. It becomes mushy and loses the mild crunchiness it has when cooked until the spirals start showing on the kernels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
It was ok... This was my first experience with quinoa so I don't know how much of it is just my personal taste preference or the actual recipe itself. It had a weird textural feel to it that I didn't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is excellent! We added peas, onions, broccoli, carrots, mushrooms and cashews to it. I stir fried them alone and then added them to the quinoa during the last 5 minutes. It tasted just like fried rice but it was healthy! I highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was my first time making quinoa and I was very impressed how this turned out. The only thing I changed was to use low sodium soy sauce because the chicken broth I used was quite salty. The flavours are great and it's such a nice change from brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Good side dish. We did use 2 cloves of garlic & could hardly taste it. Could use alittle more ginger root, but that is a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was REALLY GOOD!!! I did find it a bit strong/salty so next time I will make adjustments per my taste. I cooked this in my rice pot and it was so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Love, love, love this recipe. I am always looking for new ways to use quinoa. This one was great for a side dish to our teriyaki pork tenderloin. I did not have any green onions, so just left those out. Otherwise, followed the recipe as written, and there are no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States