Quinoa with Asian Flavors Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I used bulgur instead of quinoa and it turned out semi-bland. I don't think there are strong enough flavors in the recipe to really pop, but it was a good starting point. I upped the soy sauce (low sodium), added hoisin sauce, and a whole head of steamed broccoli. I also added a little more ginger. Turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was fantastic! My husband and kids ate it up! Because some of the other reviews said this could be a bit salty I made one change - I used 2 cups of water and 1tsp of chicken boullion in place of the chicken brothIt was a perfect companion to teriyaki pork and asian salad. Used the leftovers, combined with some veggies and leftover pork to make a great salad. Great recipe - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Good. I used low sodium chix broth and soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is the go-to Quinoa recipe!!! I have tried probably a dozen quinoa recipes and this is hands down my favorite. The ginger and the soy sauce beautifully complement the flavor of the quinoa! You must use fresh ginger! If you have more than one type of quinoa available to you I recommend using the common lighter colored quinoa (looks off-white). We have a local farmer who grows multiple varieties so I mix 3/4 white quinoa and 1/4 red quinoa. The white absorbs the flavors better the red gives it a nice crunchy texture. If you buy it in the store, the red quinoa will not absorb the flavors as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Loved this one and so did my kids. A great variation to fried rice and a ton healthier. I made it with low-sodium soy sauce, more ginger (as suggested by another reviewer) and served it with Ma Po Tofu with Eggplant. It was delish. I felt like a vegetarian gourmet cook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a fantastic quinoa recipe. I follow the ingredients exactly except for the last 5 minutes, I throw in a cup of shelled edamame and and a cup diced green onion. I save out half of the green tops of the onion to add raw before chowing down! The first night I eat it hot, but it is even better the next day cold for lunch! It is similar to couscous only better. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This was quite good! Definitely has nice flavour and I didn't change a thing, except to leave out the green onions as I didn't have any! Love quinoa, it's so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My family gave this a 5 star!!! I did add some minced carrot for color & texture and reduced the soy to 1 T (I did not have reduced sodium). I also rinsed the Quinoa as suggested. My boys loved it so much that they asked to take some along with my Asian pork to school for lunch tomorrow!! This is a definate keeper - Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I omitted the oil, and used water instead of broth. I cooked the quinoa right in the soy sauce, ginger and garlic water. This is a little too salty, so maybe I will try a low sodium soy sauce next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
very good! I used low sodium broth (think it would be much to salty otherwise), added finely chopped bell pepper, and followed others advice using extra ginger.... I might not do the extra ginger next time, but overall a success! My husband, who was skeptical about this "new thing" called Quinoa, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Fried Quinoa

Watch Chef John put a modern, healthy twist on pork-fried rice.

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States