Quinoa Vegetable Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
FOR WARM QUINOA VEGETABLE SALAD: I do not like cold salads/hard veggies so I made warm version of this! All you have to do is heat some oil in a pan and fry the bell peppers and carrots. Once they are semi-tender add the corn and tomato until the veggies are as soft as desired. Meanwhile, add the cilantro, mint, oil and balsamic vinegar (I needed double oil/vinegar than what the recipe said) and let it sit until the quinoa is cooked. Once it's ready, add it all together and you have warm quinoa vegetable salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
It was a great quinoa salad, i used low sodium chicken broth, instead of water, add red & green peppers w/the cucumber,and follow the recipe , my son made an omelete and stuffed it w/ the salad and feta cheese(no fat)i used grape tomatoes, fresh corn from the cob, less oil 1 to 3 vinegar, used wine vinegar it was great,i will use any veg in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe can be very forgiving. Quinoa such a heathy, easy to use grain that is GLUTEN FREE. Toss in any vegetables using vegetable broth makes it VEGETARIAN. Omitting tomatoes and onions makes it safe for a GERD diet. Don't like cukes? Use zucchini instead or brocolli stem and all, or dress it up with asparagus. Coriander would make a nice addition. Herbes de Province or basil works for me to vary the dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and still it was several meals or the two of us. Very good and "different.:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
It was so yummy! I brought it to work and they just gobbled it up :) I accidently took red bell pepper instead of yellow one, but it was still tasty. My husband is not fond of vegetables, but he certainly likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Just made this and it's really great. The only reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is the saltiness of the dish. I used the 2 teaspoons as instructed when cooking the quinoa. Fortunately I tested it before adding more at the end. Far too salty for my taste. Will definitely make this recipe again, but will reduce the salt to 1 teaspoon at the beginning...and omit it all together at the end. Otherwise, it really is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laddy09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Excellent! The bf and I really loved this one. I didn't have any mint, so I used a little extra cilantro. I also brightened it up with about 1 TBSP of fresh lemon juice and added a couple finely chopped jalapenos. I cooked the quinoa in chicken broth instead of water for a little extra flavor. Defintely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This was wonderful!! I cooked the quinoa with whey leftover from making cheese. I had no cucumber, so I used celery, no red onion so I used scallions, and substituted basil for the cilantro and mint. This got 5 stars from my husband, who is"ify" about salads for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol P
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wow! I've had quinoa in the past - prepared very well and prepared very badly. This is the most flavorful recipe I've tasted. It was my first time cooking quinoa myself, and I was surprised at how easy it was. Don't forget to rinse it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesivotchka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Horseheads, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Loved it, so simple and delicious. I used fresh oregano instead of cilantro/mint and it was good. I also needed an extra half cup of water to cook the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States