Quinoa Vegetable Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
this is a wonderfully tasty recipe. Since I love to get the benefit of fresh raw grain I didn't cook the quinoa. Instead I soaked the seeds overnight in cold water. They will double in volume. In the morning I drained the seeds and left them in my salad bowl on the counter top covered with a wet tea towel. Later, in another bowl, I mixed together the chopped up fresh ingredients (omitted the corn) and added the vinegar to them. I added the oil to the quinoa that had started to sprout then folded in the fresh ingredients from the other bowl. What a wonderful salad, everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this exactly as stated and even though I liked everything in it, there was something that didnt' "taste right". I decided it was the cilantro. Also I felt there was too much salt in the recipe. I would decrease the salt in the quinoa cooking by 1 tsp. With these changes, I think it would be 5 stars, but of course you would have to taste it in your own mouth! I did like it and plan to make it again. I served it to company and they didn't care for it, but I think it was the too much salt and cilantro that put them off. This is the first time I ever tried quinoa and while I find it pricey, I plan to try other recipes using it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very Good! I added wild rice too and made it a warm salad. Pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I cut the recipe in half and still it was several meals or the two of us. Very good and "different.:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Made it almost exactly as written, used less balsamic because I like the fresh taste of the cilantro and mint. I think you could use whatever veggies you have on hand if you wanted. This makes A LOT, so good for a pot luck or a party, or if you have a large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I made this hot, instead of cold, but it was very tasty, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is my favorite quinoa recipe! I actually omit the olive oil and vinegar at the end and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I really don't think the carrots worked with the balsamic, and that the recipe was overly quinoa heavy. Should I make the dish again, I'm definitely going to cut down on the quinoa, double the vegetables or so, and nix the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarathenerd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This recipe can be very forgiving. Quinoa such a heathy, easy to use grain that is GLUTEN FREE. Toss in any vegetables using vegetable broth makes it VEGETARIAN. Omitting tomatoes and onions makes it safe for a GERD diet. Don't like cukes? Use zucchini instead or brocolli stem and all, or dress it up with asparagus. Coriander would make a nice addition. Herbes de Province or basil works for me to vary the dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Loved it, so simple and delicious. I used fresh oregano instead of cilantro/mint and it was good. I also needed an extra half cup of water to cook the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States