Quinoa Vegetable Medley Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Crystal, I thought the recipe was really terrific. I had a great lift workout this afternoon & then ran a couple miles and was hungry for a quinoa dish and I found yours. I followed the recipe, except I substituted a can of French Onion soup+H2O for the veggie stock & broccoli for the zucchini and, as I always do, spiced it up more. I added several tsps of minced garlic, pinch of tarragon & marjoram, tbsp of curry, sprinkle celery salt, tbsp of dill weed and ground black pepper to taste. My girlfriend & 12 yr old daughter loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
As some other reviewers mentioned, this is a great base recipe. I loved the way the quinoa cooked and the garbanzo beans were a great addition. However, I did end up adding quite a bit (and left out the mushrooms), including cherry tomatoes, red bell peppers, green onions, broccoli, garlic salt, red pepper flakes, and dried basil. We ate it with falafel, which made an awesome dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've made this dish several times - as suggested and also customized. All worked well. I usually put a bit more broth in than the recipe calls for though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was okay, pretty bland even after adding basil and parsley. The only thing I could taste really well was the celery, and I'm not a huge fan of it. Next time I'm going to omit it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I liked this combination. I cooked the onion, garlic, quinoa, and broth together separate from the other veggies and sautéed the rest in a pan over medium heat. Then added the fresh spinach, chickpeas, salt, dash of red pepper, and a splash of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I omitted the mushrooms because I don't care for them, and followed the advice of another reviewer and let the quinoa cook about half way before adding the veggies to avoid over-cooking. Also, waited until the end to add the spinach. I added some halved cherry tomatoes and a dash of cumin as well for a little more color and flavor. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaca Moerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I liked it, added a little bit more broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Felt this needed more flavor for our family, so I added a can of diced tomatoes and served it with hot sauce and parmesan cheese. Also doubled the spinach and omitted the zucchini, since I didn't have any. Would be good with most vegetables, and will try it next time with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
The nicest thing about this recipe is how easy it is to customize to your personal taste. I didn't have all the suggested vegetables on hand so I used what I did have. I like a plate to have color so I replaced the zucchini with red pepper (I also happened to be out of zucchini) and I replaced the garbanzos with toasted almonds. I think toasting the quinoa was an inspired idea, it really gives it a nice flavor. Thanks Crystal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this for a quick dinner tonight, by altering the directions a little. I started the quinoa by itself in a pan. In a frying pan, I cooked the veggies in a little olive oil, added the seasonings, and then the garbanzo beans for a few minutes, followed by the spinach (which I chopped up a little first). I also stirred in some sauteed chicken thigh pieces. When it was all tender, I stirred it all into the cooked quinoa. I drizzled a little lemon juice on top. It was pretty good! My kids all liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States