Quinoa Tabbouleh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This recipe is almost the same as the one I've been using for years--minus the carrots and cukes. Helpful hints: Wash quinoa before cooking. Qunoa has a white powder-like substance on the grain that needs to be rinsed off before cooking. To speed cool quinoa--put in frig or freezer. To successfully chop rinsed (wet) parsley: remove stems and throw in food processor OR cut using kitchen scissors in a small tall-sided bowl. Another hint: remove seeds from tomatoes before dicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I thought this was a nice, fresh, healthy salad. I took another reviewers advice and subbed the parsley for cilantro, and used halved cherry tomatoes for the tomatoes. It seemed like it was missing something so I threw in a dash of cumin. That added the complexity I was looking for. I'll make this again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
474 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was fabulous with just one tweak. I found it was slightly bland and missing something so I searched my pantry to see what I could add. I found a jar of pimento-stuffed green olives which I sliced and mixed in and it made all the difference. I would imagine feta would work too, it just needs some kind of flavor punch. I would definitely make this again, as it is a great dish to bring to picnics or potlucks where there will be a vegetarian. Soooo good! Even my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend who shuns anything either ethnic or vegetarian loved it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
A real favourite - I take it to pot-luck parties, or use it for lunch during the week. My additions: - soak the quinoa overnight, then rinse thoroughly before cooking; add the lemon zest from the lemon used to produce the juice; add 8oz cubed/crumbled feta cheese. I often use dried parsley instead of fresh and it still tates great. Bonus that it tastes better & better as it "ages"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Great recipe - gotta love quinoa. I used half the oil (lower fat) and added 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar and used only one bunch of onions. Turned out great. It's also suitable for a Candida-free diet if you use sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This recipe was refreshing and absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe precisely, except I did not add salt into the pot. Two pieces of advice are to rinse the quinoa before cooking and cool the tabbouleh before eating... it tastes very refreshing when it's cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Had a hard time getting the veggie pieces as small as they have them at the Arabic restaurants I've been to, but it was really tasty and healthy! I love how the quinoa adds so much protein, too. I added 3 cloves of garlic, minced. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
quinoa is my new favorite food! i substituted celery for cucumbers, since i don't like cucumbers. i like to use less green onions and only 1/8 cup of lemon juice for a more subtle flavor. the longer it sits, the better it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This is a great recipe, and a nice twist on traditional bulgar tabbouleh. The quinoa gives it a very nice texture, and the addition of shredded carrots gives it some sweetness, which complements the lemony tang. I used half the olive oil to lower the calorie count a little. I'll make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
It is like a salad. I will double the quinoa next time, cut the oil and add a little vinegar. I have had several people taste it and everyone really likes it. I made it with dirty rice and they complemented each other for a tasty meal. This was my first introduction to quinoa and I am now looking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States