Quinoa Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I couldn't find red quinoa in my usual grocery store, Giant, so i used all white instead, and half of it had a garlic flavor I think really blended well with the flavors. I used twice the amount of red pepper, b/c I love it, added the 2 limes and a couple more splashes of bottled lime juice, and that helped too, with a balancing amount of cilantro of course. Next time I make this though, one thing I would decrease is the amount of red onion, too much onion! And I like red onion in general, but, Serious onion breath here. Even after days of making it the onion seems to stay very fresh. I think I'll take the advice of corn and ground beef w/ the cooked onions. That sounds like a great idea. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
The predominate flavor was sharp red onion with little else. If I was doing this again, I would cut down the amount of onion significantly then add more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I agree with one reviewer that it was lacking something. I put in Mrs. Dash, can of corn, more lime juice. It still was not as good as I had hoped. Then I threw in some ground beef I had prepared (browned with onions and garlic and a little spices). And THAT is what was missing. It was so good after that. I'll make again but only with ground beef. Stand alone it isn't all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I liked the crunchiness from the onion, and bell pepper. Perfect as a meal on its own. Next time I will try adding diced cucumbers as a complimentary dish to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This was very, very delish! The only change I made was using Grape Seed Oil instead of Olive Oil! BUT WAIT, THERE'S MORE... I love stuffed bell peppers but have cut back on rice these days. I took half of the final product and added it to a mixture of browned 1 pound lean ground beef and 1/4 hot Italian sausage and 2 cups of tomato sauce. Stuffed peppers and baked. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I think this has potential but it is missing something. Would love to come back to this recipe in a few months and see if anykne has suggestions. I chopped up 1 red onion and I could have used much less. The onion completely over powered the dish. Also, my husband and I thought it could have used more lime. I have been looking for a good quinoa salad for awhile. I am willing to give this another try if anyone has some suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I made a 1/2 recipe, and used only white quinoa, since that's what I had. This is a delicious summer cool salad--we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Outstanding gluten free summer salad. Made it per the directions except that I zested the limes into the onion and pepper mixture. Served it with avocado sections on the side. The family want it every day in place of potatoes, rice, or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States