Quinoa Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I made this for a party where there were some who eat gluten free & it was a big hit even among those who are gluten lovers. I had many recipe requests! I used more cranberries than called for to make it a little sweeter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Bank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as the directions stated and I thought it was pretty bland. Granted I prefer spicy foods, this dish seems like it's lacking something. I was looking for healthy recipes but I probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calevan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Just finished eating this - made it for my first time with some modifications, thanks to the other reviewers for the heads-up on the flavor. Here's what I did: I sauteed 3 cloves of garlic in a pat of butter, then threw in some premade carmelized onions. I chopped up some orange bell pepper and added that. I had less than 3/4 cup quinoa on hand, so I added that dry to the sautee, after a few min put the ingredients to the side in a bowl. I browned about 2 Tbs. of pine nuts in a frying pan, then set to the side. I brought 2 cups of low sodium chicken broth to a boil. Meanwhile, I chopped up less than half of the butternut squash along with less than one of the zucchini's (due to my quinoa shortage, I cut the ingredients by more than half) and fried them on low in a bit of butter and oil. That took about 15 min or so to cook. I added the quinoa sautee to the broth, then the cranberries and let it simmer for a while. I feel like the cooking time from that point was another 1/2 an hour. After maybe 20 min of cooking and adding dashes of pepper and cumin, I added the squash and zucchini. I noticed that the quinoa was still very wet towards the end, so I sprinkled in couscous very carefully, mixed well, covered, and eventually turned off the heat and put a paper towel over the pot, under the lid to absorb additional moisture. Finally, added green onions, pine nuts and chopped cilantro instead of parsley. Ate with a squirt of lime and topped with chopped avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made This for Easter, and everyone loved it! I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves to give it a sweeter taste. Thanks for a healthy and more importantly, a vegetation dish that everyone likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I srved this at Thanksgiving and even the non vegetarian/vegans loved the taste of this dish! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I agree that this recipe was very bland. At the end I added cinnamon and cayenne to spice it up a bit. It would be better to saute the squash and zucchini with spices in the beginning before adding quinoa - another option would be to use sweet potato instead of squash. Nice concept but lacking taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Followed the recipe as stated and found it to be pretty bland, but I couldn't figure out what it was lacking. If I did it again, I probably would'be tried using the chicken broth I had on hand instead of going out of my way to get some vegetable. It would lose it's vegetarian charm, but might have a richer flavor. I was disappointed. First time using Quinoa, though, and am thankful for the experience. Would have to figure out how to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alishalouise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pinkeerach
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this recipe for a new year's day dinner in place of regular stuffing. It was delicious, and my husband loved it too. Salted and peppered to taste in addition to slightly longer cooking time on the squash, but could've been b/c i couldn't find a "small" butternut squash. Definitely will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for Christmas dinner as I had a few gluten-free guests and one vegetarian (I put ham in my regular stuffing), and it was a big hit! Thanks to all the comments I made the following modifications: I added 3 cloves of garlic and half a cup of pine nuts to the onions when I was sauteing them with a mix of olive oil and butter. I then sauteed the quinoa for a few minutes in the onion, garlic, pine nut mix and then added the broth. To the pot I added about 1/2 teaspoon each cinnamon and nutmeg, and a tiny bit of ground cloves. I substituted sweet potato cubed which I sauteed in butter and olive oil. Once that was close to done I lightly sauteed the zucchini. I also left out the apricots and cranberries, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Fosser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this recipe for my family this Thanksgiving. It is a lot of food. Recommend cutting the recipe in half or you'll have a ton of leftovers. Also I added extra dried cranberries and apricots. I also added half cup of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Vegetarian Stuffing

A Thanksgiving side dish that will delight vegetarians and meat lovers alike.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States