Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Loved this! It was so good! Same as another member who commented, 3 of 6 of us are GI. This is sooo yummy! Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I'm not giving this 5 stars because it is as good as a greasy cheeseburger or a delicious pasta in cream sauce. However, I was looking for a very healthy meal and this quinoa paired very well with my ginger and cilantro baked talapia. I cooked red onion with a mix of red and regular quinoa. Added the garlic and cooked for 30 sec before adding chicken broth. I did add fresh parsley and the lemon juice. It was great with the fish and a side of steamed Brussels sprouts. This was a very low fat meal but so high in complete protein that my hub and I weren't snacking this evening. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
First time I've prepared quinoa, and this was a great recipe for my first attempt. I did make a couple of changes, but only because I had to use what was in my pantry, plus my husband doesn't care for chopped onions in dishes. I used chicken broth (reduced sodium) instead of vegetable broth, sauteed the garlic with the quinoa, and used about a 2/4 tsp. of dried thyme. Since I couldn't use diced onions, I added lots of onion powder (poor substitute, but...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This was a tasty healthy recipe! Didn't have veggie stock, so I used Chicken. After melting butter, added the garlic and onion and sauté until onion became translucent. Then proceeded with remainder of recipe instructions. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Great idea, but lacks flavor and ingredients, `i added red/yellow peppers, some fresh ground pepper, and tossed spinach in just before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband's nutrionist recommended quinoa to substitute for his usual pasta and rice. This was quick and easy to prepare, but more importantly, delicious. Can't wait to try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Have been eating quite a bit of quinoa the past few months. Neither my husband nor I liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I really love how simple this recipe is, it provides a nice base to play with. Instead of vegetable broth I use low sodium chicken broth and add about 1/8 cup more, I omit the parsley and add about 1 tsp of black pepper. Also, about 5-10 minutes before the quinoa is done cooking, I add chopped zucchini and squash and let it cook for another 10-15 minutes covered. The vegetables cook so perfectly due to the extra 1/8 cup of broth and this makes it a complete side so I don't have to make a separate veggie dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was a very flavorful recipe. I also used the changes suggested by others by sauteing the onions and garlic. I can see adding all kinds of veggies to this and it being a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States