Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
A nice, healthy side dish that doesn't compete with the other flavors in your meal. I did saute the onion and garlic in the butter for a few minutes before adding the quinoa and broth, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I'm always looking for new ways to use quinoa because I use it as a protein source so often (I'm a vegetarian), so this recipe is a real gem for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good recipe. Quinoa is a Gluten Free grain, making it a nice change from rice. Also doesn't over cook as easily as rice. It can be used in just about any recipe as a substitute grain. Try it in Tabouleh instead of bulgur wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is wonderful. Quinos is a seed and not a grain. Dr.Oz, thanks for the info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this dish on Sunday night and was very impressed! I've never had Quinoa before but seen it on the Dr. OZ show (he highly recommends Quinoa) and thought I would give it a try. Found your recipe, made it and loved it. Just saved the recipe to my box so that I never lose it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and I sauteed the garlic and onions. I didn't have fresh thyme or parsley so sprinkled a little dried. I skipped the salt. The result was very delicious, even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Used chicken broth instead of veggie broth b/c that's what I keep on hand, and toped with a little drizzle of olive oil before serving. So good my husband has asked for it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
My first time making and eating quinoa. I took it to a family gathering. Those who tried it liked it. The dash of lemon really brightens it up. It's a keeper and so simple and quick. The only changes I made, I used chicken base and dry minced onion. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahlequah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Fantastic!! A quinoa side that even my kids will eat!! Have tried many other recipes before and none were tasty enough or too complicated for a Monday night side. Only change was that I sauteed the garlic and onions before toasting the quinoa! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Yum, I didn't have the fresh herbs or a fresh lemon but wanted to try this recipe and it was fantastic, next time I will try it with the fresh ingredients as it always tastes better but yummy, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very tasty. I used chicken broth, by mistake actually but liked the result. Great reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States