Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was our family's first time trying quinoa. All but our 6 year old daughter loved it. The only changes I made were instead of tossing the onions in after cooking, I sauteed them with the quinoa. I also added the herbs while simmering, and I substituted the parsley for sage, and the vegetable broth for chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully... I can imagine if I had followed the original recipe, it would have been equally as delicious, as this is as quinoa is as versatile as rice. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a 't' and this was flavorless. All I could really taste was the broth which was not good standing just as it was. Disappointed. I'll try not to take it out on the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Voll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
First time trying quinoa and I'm in love. I cut the oil in half and sautéed the onion with the quinoa, like someone suggested, then added the garlic with the broth. Making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Loved It. I too sauted my veggies (gr & red peppers, yellow and red onions, and celery) before adding the quinoa. I also used chicken stock. Instead of adding salt, I sprinkled my portion with Maggi...didn't use the lemon juice. I will definitely make this again...and the best part, it's easy to change things up with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is simple and delicious. I have tried several quinoa recipes but this one is the best so far. I made a few modifications based on ingredients I had on hand. Substituted chicken for veggie broth and used cilantro instead of parsley. Like other reviewers I also sautéed the onion and garlic before combining. But overall, yummy, easy, and a limited number of ingredients make this a goto quinquennial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good... I made this recipe exactly according to instructions although I used 1 tsp of dried thyme rather than 1/2 Tbsp of fresh thyme. The flavor was a little bland for our tastes, but was helped by a few extra squeezes of fresh lemon juice, a little more salt, and a sprinkle of fresh Parmesan. One great aspect of this recipe is toasting the quinoa, which added some personality to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecorrine22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
As I have never used quinoa before, I was hoping this recipe didn't turn me off from it, and it definitely didn't! I bought Kaniwa but followed all the same directions. I sauteed the onion and garlic first and then reserved it in a separate bowl. Served this atop halved acorn squash and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I thought the dish was decent but I would definitely make adjustments to it when making it again. First, the store was out of vegetable broth and only had mushroom broth (I think it was a good addition). I roasted a red pepper in the oven and tossed it in at the end. I bought and added thyme as stated in the recipe, but I will definitely leave it out next time. I will also throw in some other vegetables as well (peas, carrots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Too much thyme for my taste. It overpowered everything else. I'll cut the amount of thyme in half if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiMcQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States