Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My new favorite way to prepare quinoa... the veggie stock (or chicken stock) really adds a nice flavor to the quinoa. Will become my new go-to side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Great basic recipe. I prefer more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It is probably just personal taste but we did not care for this. Initailly, I used chicken broth to cook it in and it tasted great. So I was really excited to add in all the other ingredients and see how much better it would be. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Even though we do NOT eat bland food EVER, we felt like this was better with just the broth. Maybe it would have been better if the other ingredients had cooked in it for a few minutes. The taste of the dish was just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was our family's first time trying quinoa. All but our 6 year old daughter loved it. The only changes I made were instead of tossing the onions in after cooking, I sauteed them with the quinoa. I also added the herbs while simmering, and I substituted the parsley for sage, and the vegetable broth for chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully... I can imagine if I had followed the original recipe, it would have been equally as delicious, as this is as quinoa is as versatile as rice. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a 't' and this was flavorless. All I could really taste was the broth which was not good standing just as it was. Disappointed. I'll try not to take it out on the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Voll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
First time trying quinoa and I'm in love. I cut the oil in half and sautéed the onion with the quinoa, like someone suggested, then added the garlic with the broth. Making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bacau, Bacau, Romania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Loved It. I too sauted my veggies (gr & red peppers, yellow and red onions, and celery) before adding the quinoa. I also used chicken stock. Instead of adding salt, I sprinkled my portion with Maggi...didn't use the lemon juice. I will definitely make this again...and the best part, it's easy to change things up with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is simple and delicious. I have tried several quinoa recipes but this one is the best so far. I made a few modifications based on ingredients I had on hand. Substituted chicken for veggie broth and used cilantro instead of parsley. Like other reviewers I also sautéed the onion and garlic before combining. But overall, yummy, easy, and a limited number of ingredients make this a goto quinquennial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Pretty good... I made this recipe exactly according to instructions although I used 1 tsp of dried thyme rather than 1/2 Tbsp of fresh thyme. The flavor was a little bland for our tastes, but was helped by a few extra squeezes of fresh lemon juice, a little more salt, and a sprinkle of fresh Parmesan. One great aspect of this recipe is toasting the quinoa, which added some personality to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecorrine22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States