Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I give this four stars only because I cooked the onion and used dried herbs. A wonderful recipe. My husband is from Ecuador and loved it! I don't think you can get a better review than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
First time cooking quinoa...maybe I over did it...really mushy, way too garlicky and oniony (sauteed onion and garlic in butter first). Husband thought it was pretty good...but the leftovers stayed in the fridge until they had to be thrown out. Thank you anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is very nice. I started with the butter, and added the onions and spices along with the quinoa- sauteed for about 10 minutes. Quinoa never did brown. I didn't have fresh thyme so used 1 tsp of dried and a generous pinch of dried rosemary. Then I used low sodium beef broth because that is what I had on hand. I cooked it exactly 15 minutes then let it set for about 5, still covered but off of the heat. I liked it then, so I added a can of sliced mushrooms. Re: rinsing- I covered it with cold water, as I had read elsewhere, but the liquid was clear- so I just rinsed it a couple of short rinses with cold water then cooked it. I'll try it again and probably add carrots to the sautee pan for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
The taste and ease of this recipe deserves 5 stars- I marked it down just because I changed it a tad, and it took a bit longer than 15 minutes to cook... I rinsed my quinoa first, then "toasted" it with the butter, garlic & onion. It never really toasted though, probably because I had to rinse it first. I used Chicken broth and think that if you are rinsing your quinoa- 2 cups of broth is definitely too much- I will make this again with 1-1/2 cups. I added the Thyme, Parsley, Lemon juice, salt & pepper at the end and it tasted amazing! My hubby even went back for 2nds! :) Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I'm so glad I finally discovered Quinoa and this recipe made me love it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Valdez, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
It was my first time trying Quinoa. I used Red Mill Quinoa so I did not rinse it. I thought it sounded strange to add the ingredients at the end after cooking the quinoa so I sauted the onion and 2 cloves of garlic before browning the quinoa. When it was simmering I tossed in the salt & thyme. Only when it was finished did I add the parsley and a quick squeeze of lemon. (I used Turkey broth leftover from Thanksgiving). My result was a very bland quinoa.....maybe throwing in uncooked onions and garlic as recipe states would have helped with favor? However I cannot imagine eating it with raw onions and garlic. I will not make this again, however I will continue to experiment with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I didn't care for this, but it could be just because I don't like quinoa - it's the first time I've tried it. I cooked the garlic and onion before mixing it in the quinoa, maybe that was the problem? I found this recipe didn't have much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I sauteed the onions and garlic before mixing them into the cooked quinoa. I also added dried cranberries. Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this for the first time tonight and loved it. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil first. I also substituted half a teaspoon thyme for the fresh. The result was a wonderful side dish that will definitely appear on my table for dinner again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Simple and tasty. Will make again. Definitely lots of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States