Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
this is excellent!! i made with chicken broth, and i also cooked the onion and garlic. i can't stand raw onion, and this didn't seem like the right recipe for raw garlic either. the thyme in my opinion really makes this dish excellent!! i also added a couple of grates of fresh parmesan cheese. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I've been disappointed with other quinoa recipes, and I thought this one would turn out similarly, but boy was I wrong. I didn't have vegetable broth so I used water instead, and it still turned out amazing. Ate this with "Zucchini with Pecans" from this site and it was fantastic. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This quinoa was pretty good. I didn't use any butter or toast my quinoa. I made it according to package directions using the broth in place of water. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used about 1/4 teaspoon of dried and added it toward the end of the cooking process of the quinoa along with the garlic. Used only about 1/2 of a large onion and the lemon gave it a nice touch. Added a dash of black pepper too the mix too... will make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Was my first time making Quinoa - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was my first attempt at quinoa and I LOVED IT. Even my picky 12 year old ate it and didn't gag :P I didn't have any fresh herbs on hand (shame on me!) so I used dried Italian seasoning instead, and probably more garlic and lemon than was called for, but it was delish. I will definitely be making more of this and less of the processed white rice I've become so addicted to. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Quinoa Side Dish Haiku: "I love quinoa's 'bite', such an earthy, tender taste. Easy, hippie food!" My family's not the biggest fans of quinoa, but w/ the delicate addition of thyme, lemon, parsley and garlic, they couldn't get enough of the stuff tonight. Mine took closer to 25 min. to absorb all the liquid, and as a preference since I know that I wouldn't have liked the raw onion mixed in prior to serving, I softened the garlic and onion in the butter before adding the dry quinoa. While not screamingly-flavorful, this recipe's an easy way to prepare a healthy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Wow! I had never eaten quinoa before and since I am trying to eat healthier I thought I'd give this recipe a try. I subbed olive oil for butter as a healthier choice and did add more lemon at the end just because I love lemon. I also followed the advice of others and sautéed the onions and garlic first before adding the quinoa. I followed the rest of the recipe and it was amazing. Thanks Sal for such a great recipe I am hooked on quinoa now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Loved it. Used a bit of dried thyme because I didn't have it fresh. I also used chicken broth instead of veg broth. In my opinion, the lemon is NOT optional. It made this dish fantastic. No leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Excellent! An extremely satisfying alternative to rice. Went very well with lightly breaded fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This was my first time making quinoa, and I must say, it is very good. But I didn't follow the recipe exactly: I sauteed the garlic and onion and then toasted the quinoa. I found the end result a bit bland, so I recommend adding triple the salt, double the lemon juice, and triple the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States