Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I just couldn't get past the weird texture and flavor of quinoa. I'm sure this recipe is fine otherwise. I did find it weird to put raw onions and garlic in here, so I sauted it. I cooked mine exactly for 15 mins and it seemed done to me. Anyway, I was also worried about the sodium content of the veggie stock along with the added salt so I used water. All in all I'll probably give up on quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
A great quinoa side that would complement many different main dishes. I used dried spices (on hand) and added them when it was simmering. The kids ate it without complaining, which is rare with quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe to the T and it was delicious. Light and nutty flavored and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was delicious! My 6-year old ate it right up. Since he doesn't like onion pieces, I pulverized the onion in my MagicBullet and cooked it with the qunioa. Turned our great and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Very simple and versatile. I added parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
It added a good flavorto the quinoa, but the thyme was a little too lemony for my taste. We added some cilantro, and that seemed to add a good taste also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was a nice change from rice. I changed the method by including the onion while toasting the quinoa. Raw onion in the pilaf didn't appeal to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent!! Very, very tasty. The only think I did different was after I added the broth to the quinoa I also added the onion and garlic so it would soften up. Just a preference. My husband loved it! Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a great base recipe...I would, however, leave out the salt. The broth contains more than enough for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galasriniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States