Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used chicken brother because I had it on hand and no thyme because I had none. I cooked the garlic and onion with the quinoa and added the parsley and lemon at the end. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent Recipe! I made it as a side dish to go with some pan fried haddock and it was the perfect addition. So much so that my kids asked if I would make it again. This will become a staple in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
A note to all those who ask, yes you can use a rice cooker. Same proportions and everything. And a note to the Quinoa commentator, grains are seeds, just like Quinoa. I couldn't imagine not frying the onions first on this recipe, but it is a recipe that you can change however you like. I added in Pine Nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
you should mention rinsing quinoa well. It has a natural insecticide that will taste bitter if not rinsed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband and I both enjoyed this. I stir fried the onions and garlic and some sweet bell pepper along with the quinoa. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock the cause that was what we had in the house and omitted the lemon juice. My only difficulty was that it required considerably more cooking time than the recipe stated. I checked it after 15 minutes and found that the water was only 2/3 absorbed and the grain was too crunchy for my taste. I simmered it another 10 minutes and it tasted good, but there was still considerable water in the bottom of the pan. As it happened, I let it sit covered for another 20 minutes before it was time to serve. After all that sitting, the water was all absorbed and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is the first time I've made Quinoa. I followed what others did and cooked the garlic and onion while toasting the Quinoa. I used olive oil instead of butter and it was good. I used fresh thyme and parsley and after tasting the finished product I decided it needed a bit more flavor. I fine chopped some raw onion and added it at the end like the original recipe calls for. Overall - if you don't like Quinoa, you won't like this. But if you've never tried it I would say this is a good starting point. I will make it again cooking the garlic and onion first but leaving a little onion on the side to add at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I have made this a couple of times now. It is really yummy. I did saute the onions ahead of time since we don't like them too raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Really tasty! I little nutter flavor than I was expecting but super easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've loved quinoa ever since discovering it and this recipe does an awesome job of bringing out the nutty flavor. Next time I might press the garlic instead of simply chopping it and try either less onion (my small onion probably yielded 1 C) or red onion. Really complimented our steak with whiskey sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
added chopped carrots with quinoa while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States