Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
WOW, this recipe is great! In case you didn't know, quinoa (pronounced keen-wah) contains more protein than any other grain. Since it also contains a good amount of lysine, it is a complete protein. I made a few changes to the recipe - only had organic beef stock (in the box) and dried herbs. Used a couple of green onions and two cloves of garlic. Also added a little ground pepper. Great and easy way to serve up quinoa. Note about rinsing or soaking: normally, quinoa has a bitter saponins coating that is removed by soaking it or rinsing it. Most of the quinoa sold in the USA has already had the coating removed so rinsing is not required. But best check your source!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I loved this. I used organic quinoa, so it had to be thoroughly rinsed so that it wouldn't be bitter.I sauteed the onions and garlic before toasting the quinoa, then threw it into a rice cooker with the broth and seasoning to finish. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I had never heard of quinoa before yesterday. I heard mention of it on TV, so I thought I would learn more about it from the Internet. Everything that I learned pointed toward quinoa as the most nutritious grain out there, so I had to try it. I followed the direction of others and really enjoyed this dish. I began by melting the butter and sautéing the onion and garlic for two minutes. Then I added the quinoa and returned to the recipe. I chose to use chicken broth instead of vegetable and decided to add some shrimp seven minutes into the simmer. Once I got past the strange texture of this grain, I really enjoyed it. I will make this recipe again. Trust me, you don’t have to be a health nut to enjoy this recipe. (By the way, it took about 25 minutes or more for the grain to incorporate all of the liquid.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Very good. Made a few changes. Cooked the onions when i was toasting the quinoa. Also added in diced red pepper. Before simmering I added in all the spices except the parsely. After simmering I added in parsely and lemon juice. But VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
3 out of 6 of us are gluten intolerant. I happened upon this recipe and it has forever changed our life! My husband (who is not a celiac) LOVES this recipe and has requested I find as many recipes as I can about quinoa because it's so healthy. I do sautee the onion and garlic with the quinoa and I use water and GF ckn. bouillon instead of the vegetable broth. Love, love, love this recipe! Thanks for the great rice alternative for my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Nice alternative to rice. Used low sodium low fat chicken broth - there was no need to add additional butter or salt to make it tasty. The texture is similiar to wild rice, which my son doesn't like so he wasn't a fan, but the rest of the family and the neighbors loved it. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This recipe is excellent! I watch the glycemic index of foods I eat, and quinoa is a low GI food (35.) I've been looking for recipes for quinoa to include in my diet, and this was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Difficult to find tasty quinoa recipes, but this is a good one! I didn't have vegetable broth, so substituted chicken broth instead and omitted the onions (husband hates them). I have made this countless times and passed the recipe on, too - always turns out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My first time trying quinoa. This dish had great flavor! I sauteed the onion and mushrooms (which I added) before browning the quinoa, and it was a good move. Update: I've tried this same recipe with bulgur and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good, but I'm confused about the rinsing. I've looked at other recipes that involve toasting the quinoa first and they don't mention rinsing. I checked out a site that sells it and they say they pre-rinse so the consumer doesn't need to. Guess it depends on the kind you buy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States