Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I thought there was far too many flavours in this and it honestly just tasted gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Great side dish! I like quinoa, but I usually have it as a base for another meal and never on it's own as a side. It was delicious! I added a diced green pepper. I did not add the lemon juice. I also didn't use fresh herbs, but dried herbs. I feel that it makes more than 4 servings. This is a side dish I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan103

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I make Quinoa on a regular basis but some of my dishes are quite cumbersome and time consuming, so as an Easter side dish where I needed a large portion I though this recipe would fit the bill Conceptually, it's great. Veges, Quinoa, seasoning. But there's just something about the combination that doesn't work. I followed the recipe to a T, only adding some finely chopped red bell pepper for color, but it was a flop. The bites tasted good but there was an after taste that was terrible. I think it was the thyme, though it's odd because I generally like time. Can't pinpoint it but put it this way, no one could get enough of my other dishes and this one was left with barely a dent taken out (by regular quinoa eaters)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I made this tonight without the herbs and with water instead of broth and it was fantastic. Toasting the quinoa made such a difference. My only problem with quinoa is unless I rinse it, it's sandy. That's a turnoff for me. Next time I'm rinsing, then draining well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Very delicious!!! I used the advise of others to saute the onions and garlic. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I will definatly make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My new favorite way to prepare quinoa... the veggie stock (or chicken stock) really adds a nice flavor to the quinoa. Will become my new go-to side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weston, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Great basic recipe. I prefer more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
It is probably just personal taste but we did not care for this. Initailly, I used chicken broth to cook it in and it tasted great. So I was really excited to add in all the other ingredients and see how much better it would be. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Even though we do NOT eat bland food EVER, we felt like this was better with just the broth. Maybe it would have been better if the other ingredients had cooked in it for a few minutes. The taste of the dish was just not our thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This was our family's first time trying quinoa. All but our 6 year old daughter loved it. The only changes I made were instead of tossing the onions in after cooking, I sauteed them with the quinoa. I also added the herbs while simmering, and I substituted the parsley for sage, and the vegetable broth for chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully... I can imagine if I had followed the original recipe, it would have been equally as delicious, as this is as quinoa is as versatile as rice. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the recipe to a 't' and this was flavorless. All I could really taste was the broth which was not good standing just as it was. Disappointed. I'll try not to take it out on the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States