Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My husband's nutrionist recommended quinoa to substitute for his usual pasta and rice. This was quick and easy to prepare, but more importantly, delicious. Can't wait to try some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Have been eating quite a bit of quinoa the past few months. Neither my husband nor I liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I really love how simple this recipe is, it provides a nice base to play with. Instead of vegetable broth I use low sodium chicken broth and add about 1/8 cup more, I omit the parsley and add about 1 tsp of black pepper. Also, about 5-10 minutes before the quinoa is done cooking, I add chopped zucchini and squash and let it cook for another 10-15 minutes covered. The vegetables cook so perfectly due to the extra 1/8 cup of broth and this makes it a complete side so I don't have to make a separate veggie dish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was a very flavorful recipe. I also used the changes suggested by others by sauteing the onions and garlic. I can see adding all kinds of veggies to this and it being a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My favorite way to cook quinoa. I sauteed the onions and a bellpepper with the quinoa. I read some complaints on the bitterness and to fix that you soak it in water for about 30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious, I may skip the butter next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This recipe was a big hit with the adults but not my kids. This was my first time cooking and eating quinoa and I was impressed. I agree with the other posts that the garlic and onion need to be put in the quinoa when browning. I used the garlic fresh and it was too potent. I had no trouble browning it and it really helped the flavour. I used the full amount of broth (chicken) and let it cook until it was all absorbed. I found that using the full amount of broth made the serving of quinoa go farther. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used olive oil instead of butter, sautéed the garlic and onions with the quinoa, and used a can of chicken broth. I also added a dash of garlic salt. The squeeze of lemon at the end lightened up the dish. There were no leftovers!! Thank you so much for this recipe. It's a great basic recipe that allows for easy modifications. This makes eating healthier so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was fantastic! I have never tried quinoa before making this and now I'm hooked! Did not alter it at all and it came out perfect! Thanks for turning me on to this amazing "power" food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star1021
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very nutty, and delicious! So very easy to make. The crunch of the onion made it very nice. I will add carrots, and celery next time. YUM. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Forsman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 383) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Stuffing

See how to make quinoa stuffing with squash and dried fruits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States