Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I thought it sounded a little plain so I added 2 stalks of celery chopped fine, 1 cup asparagus cut in chunks and 1 Tbsp. Mrs. Dash Original Blend. We loved it. If you don't have asparagus you could add another vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Made this last night to go with roasted Swiss chard (another wonderful recipe from this site) and it was so good! I settled on this one since I had evertyhing it called for in the recipe and it was fairly quick to make. I even had fresh thyme which was lovely in this! Only thing I did not put in was onion, the Swiss chard had a LOT of onion and I did not want to overdo. I am loving Quinoa and always looking for new ways to fix it.. it is so healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Made this last night AND the night before...hubby liked it so much! Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Malik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Just tried the recipe for the first time, made a couple of changes with seasonings, also I used organic coconut oil to saute. Definitely going to be a favorite side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gldnsonflower

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I just made this for dinner, and it was a hit! Super delicious. I cooked the garlic and onion (until softened) in a separate pan with olive oil, then I added salt, pepper, crushed dried thyme and rosemary to it, then when the quinoa was done cooking, I added the onion "mixture" to it and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
More like 2 stars for us but trying to be fair since I did not use fresh herbs. I imagine fresh would make a huge difference. I also sprayd my pan with olive oil instead of using butter. Really not very good but could be better if using fresh herbs nd butter I suppose. Will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was my 1st time making quinoa and we liked it. I like the fact that it is a healthy option to other side dishes like rice or noodle dishes. The fresh ingredients made all of the difference. I will try more quinoa recipes after trying this introductory recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Loved this! It was so good! Same as another member who commented, 3 of 6 of us are GI. This is sooo yummy! Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I'm not giving this 5 stars because it is as good as a greasy cheeseburger or a delicious pasta in cream sauce. However, I was looking for a very healthy meal and this quinoa paired very well with my ginger and cilantro baked talapia. I cooked red onion with a mix of red and regular quinoa. Added the garlic and cooked for 30 sec before adding chicken broth. I did add fresh parsley and the lemon juice. It was great with the fish and a side of steamed Brussels sprouts. This was a very low fat meal but so high in complete protein that my hub and I weren't snacking this evening. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
First time I've prepared quinoa, and this was a great recipe for my first attempt. I did make a couple of changes, but only because I had to use what was in my pantry, plus my husband doesn't care for chopped onions in dishes. I used chicken broth (reduced sodium) instead of vegetable broth, sauteed the garlic with the quinoa, and used about a 2/4 tsp. of dried thyme. Since I couldn't use diced onions, I added lots of onion powder (poor substitute, but...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States