Quinoa Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I've loved quinoa ever since discovering it and this recipe does an awesome job of bringing out the nutty flavor. Next time I might press the garlic instead of simply chopping it and try either less onion (my small onion probably yielded 1 C) or red onion. Really complimented our steak with whiskey sauce well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
added chopped carrots with quinoa while browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Made this for dinner last evening and truly enjoyed it. Very healthy. I didn't change a thing...Great recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe turned out delicious but I had to make some considerable modifications. First of all, toasted the quinoa for 5 min. is too long. Even at a low heat it will burn and start popping out of the pan. 3 min. is more realistic. Amount of broth needed is more like 4 cups instead of two. (I used chicken broth) Like others I added the garlic and onion while the quinoa cooked to enhance flavor. Instead of parsley I used cilantro and it was very flavorful. All in all a great recipe but less time browning the quinoa and more liquid are needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethmariead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Phenomenal and easy - great to throw on the stove when the main dish requires a lot of prep! I add sauteed portobello mushrooms for a little extra umph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
A nice, healthy side dish that doesn't compete with the other flavors in your meal. I did saute the onion and garlic in the butter for a few minutes before adding the quinoa and broth, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I'm always looking for new ways to use quinoa because I use it as a protein source so often (I'm a vegetarian), so this recipe is a real gem for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Good recipe. Quinoa is a Gluten Free grain, making it a nice change from rice. Also doesn't over cook as easily as rice. It can be used in just about any recipe as a substitute grain. Try it in Tabouleh instead of bulgur wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is wonderful. Quinos is a seed and not a grain. Dr.Oz, thanks for the info.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettyann
Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this dish on Sunday night and was very impressed! I've never had Quinoa before but seen it on the Dr. OZ show (he highly recommends Quinoa) and thought I would give it a try. Found your recipe, made it and loved it. Just saved the recipe to my box so that I never lose it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and I sauteed the garlic and onions. I didn't have fresh thyme or parsley so sprinkled a little dried. I skipped the salt. The result was very delicious, even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States