Quinoa Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I really like this pudding. The consistency is more of a gruel. Ever since my brother introduced me to quinoa, I have been interested in finding different ways to prepare it because it is so good for you. This is a good recipe, and not hard to make at all. I am going to find some unsweetened apple juice to make it less sweet next time, but that is just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Easy to make, yummy and you can play with it -- use soy or rice milk for the apple juice, throw in nuts (once cooked or else they get soft), dried or cut-up fresh fruit... Quinoa looks a bit wacky when it cooks because each grain has a curled string attached to it. It has a great kinda nutty flavour though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
this is great, it's one of my standbys. i usually add some diced apples or pears and whatever dried fruit i have around. i's really good cold too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a good way to enjoy quinoa and this is it...it's very good. A lot like rice pudding, actually. I was surprised how creamy it seemed without any dairy in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHNDIPITY02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OK, I am going to try this tomorrow for breakfast, but I wanted to say, quinoa has an acidic coating on it naturally. This must be rinsed off, or the quinoa will have a bitter taste. I suggesst soaking or rinsing the quinoa for about 15 minutes before using. If you soak the grain, then you can simply rinse well before cooking. I think this is probably the problem and not the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Quite nice! Not too sweet, and had a really interesting texture. This was my first time trying quinoa, and I'm very impressed. Will definitely make this again, perhaps with more cinnamon and vanilla for a more "comfort food" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I made this with all rice milk, omitted the apple juice, vanilla , lemon juice, salt and water. i added splenda, raisins and dried apricots. it took an extra 10 minutes to cook, but tasted delicious!!! I will def make it again, perhaps with bits of apple added in too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Loved this recipe! I made it for breakfast and added in walnuts & coconut flakes. Served it with banana slices on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
delicious! i used 2 1/2 ounces frozen applesauce & 1/4 cup of milk instead of the apple juice. other than that, i stuck to the recipe. also, my 7 month old baby had some w/ breast milk, frozen applesauce & a sprinkle of cinnamon. he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was really good. As others have said, it was tart, so I added soy milk and some maple syrup to sweeten it. I also always serve rice pudding cold with maple syrup on top, so that is what I did here. Again, the maple syrup counteracted the sour taste of the raisins and lemon juice. I did feel that there were too many raisins, so next time I will cut them by half. I will also try substituting soy milk for the apple juice and subbing 1/4 cup apple juice for the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States