Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was exceptional! We put all the ingredients into a crockpot (minus the milk as we used dairy not almond) and cooked on low overnight. The next morning we stirred in some warmed milk and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I omitted the butter, maple syrup and almonds. Instead I fried the apples in a vegetable oil sprayed pan, added raisins for sweetness, and used pecans as the nuts. I also used soy milk instead of almond milk. This is a nice, grainy kind of cereal that brings out the taste of the cinnamon flavored apples. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent! Can also substitute coconut milk. I have also reduced maple syrup and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good recipe; butter, apples & cinnamon can hardly be beat. I love quinoa, but imagine you could substitute a variety of different grains and have a wonderful breakfast. Thank you Alyse for posting this yummy, healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I adore quinoa - love its taste/texture, versatility and it's super healthy! I am always excited to find new ways to prepare it and loved the sound of this one. I used pure maple syrup and light vanilla soy as it happened to be open in my fridge while my almond milk was not yet! I opted to leave out the half and half as well. This was an enjoyable breakfast, substantial and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty. I didn't have almond milk so I used regular, 1%, dairy milk. Also added some brown sugar to my bowl because I like it that way. Its texture reminds me of Sunny Boy cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lottie Gilpin Bardoel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Tasty, but frying the apples in butter kind of defeats the health benefits of quinoa. I just add the apples and cinnamon to the quinoa and cook it all together. I sweeten with stevia, but you can certainly use the maple syrup for flavor and sweetness. I also add one-quarter cup walnuts for some healty fat, but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My children took one look at this and started to cry until I forced them to smell it. Then they cleaned their bowls! I liked how another reviewer said to add raisins. I'll try that next time. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wappingers Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty tasty - my first attempt to cook with quinoa! Next time I will use two apples instead of one and try doubling the cinnamon and maybe upping the almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is yummy. I added peanut butter b/c I didn't have almonds. Served it over greek yogurt to cool it off fast for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States