Quinoa Porridge with Cinnamon Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Good recipe; butter, apples & cinnamon can hardly be beat. I love quinoa, but imagine you could substitute a variety of different grains and have a wonderful breakfast. Thank you Alyse for posting this yummy, healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I omitted the butter, maple syrup and almonds. Instead I fried the apples in a vegetable oil sprayed pan, added raisins for sweetness, and used pecans as the nuts. I also used soy milk instead of almond milk. This is a nice, grainy kind of cereal that brings out the taste of the cinnamon flavored apples. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I adore quinoa - love its taste/texture, versatility and it's super healthy! I am always excited to find new ways to prepare it and loved the sound of this one. I used pure maple syrup and light vanilla soy as it happened to be open in my fridge while my almond milk was not yet! I opted to leave out the half and half as well. This was an enjoyable breakfast, substantial and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent! Can also substitute coconut milk. I have also reduced maple syrup and added some raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Super yummy! My 3 year old LOVED it. I did omit the nuts from her's as she is not a huge fan. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrazyKristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Pretty tasty - my first attempt to cook with quinoa! Next time I will use two apples instead of one and try doubling the cinnamon and maybe upping the almonds as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This is yummy. I added peanut butter b/c I didn't have almonds. Served it over greek yogurt to cool it off fast for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This was exceptional! We put all the ingredients into a crockpot (minus the milk as we used dairy not almond) and cooked on low overnight. The next morning we stirred in some warmed milk and enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Tasty. I didn't have almond milk so I used regular, 1%, dairy milk. Also added some brown sugar to my bowl because I like it that way. Its texture reminds me of Sunny Boy cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LottieB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vermilion, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
It was a pretty good recipe but I was expecting it to be sweet for some reason and was definitely let down on that point. After I added a bunch of sugar to it, I loved it :) I would make it again, but I would add sugar from the get go since I like sweet breakfast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Quinoa Pudding

This alternative to rice pudding is high in protein and so tasty.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States